Australian NRL to Play in Vegas

The National Rugby League Season in Australia is due to kick off in about 11 days and this year (in an attempt to promote the competition globally) the opening 2 games of the season are going to be played in Las Vegas, USA. For American sports fans who are bummed out that the Superbowl is over and there’s no hard hitting footy to be played for another 7 months or so, this is an opportunity to see how the Aussies do it LIVE.


Source

There are 2 games scheduled for the 3rd of March at Allegiant Stadium, Las Vegas in a classic Double Header. Four of the NRLs top teams will be hitting it out. Manly Sea Eagles play the South Sydney Rabbitohs and then the Sydney Roosters play the Brisbane Broncos. The NRL is determined that these games be the best showcase for our game and so hopefully the teams will all be pumped up to play in front of a massive crowd. In truth, that stadium could be half full and still be bigger than what we’re used to over here...

For me, I am a little bit skeptical. I know that Americans sometimes watch our game being played without protective padding or helmets and are often in awe of the physical contact and collisions, but I’m not convinced that these games will be well attended. Of course, over here these Vegas games are being hyped up to no end and the initiative will be labelled an enormous success whatever happens.

A lot will come down to the players though. NRL players can be undisciplined and unprofessional at times and a trip to Las Vegas might be treated as a bit of a junket by some. If the players put in a poor show or get caught in a drunken controversy like they sometimes do over here, it’d be a pretty bad look. Our Player Handlers will need to be on high alert. If it were up to me the players would have a Booze Ban and be effectively Locked Down in a tightly controlled environment for the entire trip – even AFTER the matches. We will have to see...

Sort:  

This should be interesting. I wonder if people will actually tune in and understand what is going on. I think most American football fans will likely be pretty bored with NRL games. I try to enjoy it but for me, it just isn't what I am looking for and I am sure the Rugby League fans feel the same way in regards to American football.

That's fair enough. I enjoy Rugby League and also enjoy watching NFL even though I don't understand a lot of the rules. The most frustrating thing about NFL is all the stoppages, where I am used to Rugby League having more of a flow. Each to their own I suppose. We will see how the Americans respond in the crowd at Vegas.

I hope they turn up and enjoy it. I welcome any and all sports. I was surprised to find out that there is now a professional cricket league in the USA so why to Rugby League?

It's crazy how things in the sports world have really started to boom for Vegas.

I think it really started with the Boxing.

Yeah, that is a good point. I'm going to give you a shout out in my sports post today.

Thanks! Appreciate it.

I think it's great that the US market gets exposed to a bit of Australian footy! And Vegas picking up on it is usually a good sign... it's a lot of exposure.

=^..^=

I do hope they can make it work.

!DHEDGE !PIMP


You must be killin' it out here!
@trumpman just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @buggedout.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/3 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

Ooh it's amazing things are happening soon

NRL needs to recruit more players or train the ones they have since they are unprofessional

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @buggedout.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

1


This post has been selected for upvote from our token accounts by @trumpman! Based on your tags you received upvotes from the following account(s):

- @dhedge.bonus

@trumpman has 4 vote calls left today.

Hold 10 or more DHEDGE to unlock daily dividends. Hold 100 or more DHEDGE to unlock thread votes. Calling in our curation accounts currently has a minimum holding requirement of 100 DHEDGE. The more DHEDGE you hold, the higher upvote you can call in. Buy DHEDGE on Tribaldex or earn some daily by joining one of our many delegation pools at app.dhedge.cc.