You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sporting memories: What was it like playing in college?

Quite sad really that you didn't reach your full potential. I could have turned professional but the age was against me. I was 27 when the sport started turning professional which meant I only had 4 maybe 5 years. This was why I turned to refereeing which injury cut that career move short which would have been very lucrative and fun. I had already been selected to be fast tracked and was less than 2 years away from turning professional.

Sort:  

wow, going in at 27 must have been tough. Did you find that the younger people had a lot more stamina than you did? I recall having rather endless cardio when I was between the ages of 16-20 or so.

Not at all because I was playing semi professional already and played against and with international players. The more serious the rugby the slower and more controlled the game was plus you cannot buy experience in certain positions. In the earlier age groups like Under 20 the game was fast and furious because it was too loose. I have never struggled for fitness and there is a big difference between fit and match fit. In many cases you struggle to walk the next day and ice baths would have made a big difference.