Secret Trails

in Sports Talk Social2 years ago

Hi hi Hivers. Thanks for all the comments and votes on my recent posts. It's been a whirlwind month of travel and adventures in Australia. Im back to Phuket and yesterday I dusted off my pushy ( Australian slang for bicycle) and hit a new trail. Basically just a fork on a trail that I have ridden often but never explored that particular option. That's something great about the riding here, the network of trails seems endless and no matter how many years I explore the trails here I always find new routes with hilarious encounters along the way. First pic is this very cool jungle shack built way up high in the hills. The mountains of Phuket are full of these.

IMG_20201106_194816.jpg

It's great because the rich land developers in Phuket cant get their hands on these hilltop land plots due to development laws. What a view this guy has - but no real road access and no running water or electric.....

IMG_20201106_194624.jpg

The trails was mostly single track but a few sections of real rough road that i guess you could beat a 4WD up if you really needed to. Much of the single track in my areas have been laid with rough concrete to make them all weather for the farmers to get up there on little scooters. Sure makes for a hard landing if you lose your front wheel though - trust me I have eaten it multiple times.

IMG_20201119_154357.jpg

IMG_20201119_163044.jpg

Biking up in these mountains is a mixture of steep single track thru dense jungle, undulating trails through fruit farms and rubber plantations, rough muddy tracks, beautiful concrete paths and the occasional section of horribly overgrown bush wacking. One common thread though is the people I meet that live and work the land up here. They are always gentle, always friendly and always welcoming. Never do you get anyone complaining that you are trespassing or suggest that the trail is private and I shouldn't be here. Their homes are simple and pretty rough to be honest and thats just fine by me. There is always a fire going and the offer of a coffee or a shot of fire water - neither really what I want to drink in the middle of a ride!

IMG_20201119_162102.jpg

IMG_20201119_162140.jpg

On this last ride my buddy Leelee brought his new drone so we stopped for a while to let him film. Gives you an idea of the size of the riding areas in Phuket....

Screen Shot 2022-03-25 at 16.33.13.png

Screen Shot 2022-03-25 at 16.32.18.png

Screen Shot 2022-03-25 at 16.32.47.png

Screen Shot 2022-03-25 at 16.34.04.png

Readers that know me will be pleased to see that today I ventured out with a few riding pals not just me...:)

Im Jobiker and I bomb trails in Phuket! Peace!

Sort:  

The view from above is really amazing. Very nice to see it. And also the government is nice to make a law preventing big corporation make any building on the top of the hills, because hen the place will not that ncice anymore

Yes its one good thing here in Phuket that they have limited development in the mountains.

Seriously the trails must be endless as this is like having the entire countryside to do as you please.

It really is a spiderweb of trails up here. I love it! And as I explore more and more I start to feel like its my own private estate..:)

Wow dude that is some pretty amazing scenery. I would love to do that.

Yeah the scenery is pretty awesome. I gotta say though, the trails up in the North of Thailand are really something special too. Although I love riding Phuket trails - the best is Chiang Mai and Chiang Rai. Im planning a trip there real soon.

They are always gentle, always friendly and always welcoming

That sums up Thai people in general for me. Such beautiful people - kind, genuine, welcoming, honest, hard working and smiling people.

Them trails look class by the way and what a view that guy has down on Phuket, amazing.

Yes you are right - its the people you meet here in Thailand that really make every experience special. Trails are class too!