You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Evander Holyfield is extremely broke

I don't understand why most sports person hardly think of the end in sight. Imagine Alex Song too. I think they think the money would always come which makes them spend it without a thought. I like what modern day sports people are doing now... They are more investment oriented now because they understand that their careers are shorter compared to how long they'd live.

Sort:  

I like what modern day sports people are doing now... They are more investment oriented now because they understand that their careers are shorter compared to how long they'd live.

I was unaware of this and if true, this is good news. I"m sure a lot of them still get duped into bad investments though. I don't remember the average span of a pro athlete's career just in a general sense because we tend to focus on the Tom Brady's or Christiano Ronaldo's who just keep going and going. I want to say the average career of an NFL player is under 5 years.

5 years is too short for them to keep blowing all their money away. You are right, it's a short span and they eventually get duped in investments. I know quite a lot of the football guys who have other investments apart from football and maybe not so much of the NFL guys.

It's always good if they think with the future in mind.