You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sporting memories: Scoring an own goal in football/soccer

I've always imagined how players feel when they score an own goal. It must be a terrible feeling to know you let your team down and I'm sure the team understands because mistakes happen and being one of their best performer, they would understand. Glad your team managed to rally around and save it...

Sort:  

it might have been a different scene if we hadn't won but yeah, me being one of the better players on the team meant that they were going to take it easy on me. I can't imagine how devastating it would be to a kid that is one of the lessor players on the team particularly at a younger age. It might make them quit the sport.

This is so true...being a footballer requires mental strength.