Fury vs. Usyk: Thank god it wasn't a draw

So despite my earlier messages about being not so sure that I would get around to watching it the Saudis apparently created a fight-time to cater to Americans (which is normal) to ensure that I would be able to watch the fight and honestly, it didn't disappoint.

I like that we are going a bit international with these sports and don't want everything to be in Las Vegas but I am always a bit concerned with fights happen overseas purely for selfish reasons.

This fight was built up as the most important heavyweight fight of the 2000's and while I had my reservations about whether or not that would end up being the case, the fight itself was actually really really good.


image.png
src

That low-def picture was actually taken by a professional photographer but honestly, what can we expect when things are moving so quickly.

The fight was very tactical by both of the people involved but I was a little surprised to see Tyson Fury "clowning" in the early rounds.


image.png
src

This is all part of it now, unfortunately. I believe it is because the fight game has become more about not just winning, but winning and embarrassing your opponent in the meantime. For Tyson Fury though, these movements to mock his opponent would end up being fruitless.

As the fight went on it wasn't really apparent who would emerge victorious but thanks to the bell and only because of the end of the round bell, a "fury" of Usyk punches that started with an overhand left turned the clowning in the corner to a zimmer-frame that was the only thing keeping Fury from hitting the mat. Had it not been for that I really think we would have seen a knockdown in that round.


src

It was a really good fight with it appearing as though it could go either way at any point up until the 8th round. However, because of the way that things had gone up to that point it was the fear of me and all the other people in the bar I was in at the time that this fight could actually result in a dreaded draw.

I don't think anyone wanted to see that and even as they were revealing the judges' scores there was still some fear.

First judge ruled in favor of Usyk, the 2nd rules in favor of Fury, and then Buffer paused for a few seconds before revealing that the new, undisputed heavyweight champion of world is now Oleksandr Usyk.... who in my mind, really deserved the victory.

Now I can't be certain of these details because they were only rumblings of a drunken populace at a local bar here in my hometown but I overheard that there is a 3-fight contract involved here. The 3rd fight will be cancelled if Usyk wins the 2nd one.

So what to expect now? I would imagine that the 2nd fight will take place in or near the UK and hopefully Fury will bring his A-game for that fight to force a 3rd. Or I would be perfectly happy with Usyk convincing the world that he in fact deserves all the belts that are currently his.

There is one thing for sure though, and that is that I am extremely pleased that it was no a draw. According to the "experts' scorecards" by round 10, it looked very much like that was where it could be headed and lets' be real here.... who TF wants a fight to end in a draw?

Sort:  

It was a great fight, and a championship performance for Usyk. He deserved the victory in my opinion.

I agree. I don't know what that one judge who gave the fight to Fury was smoking.

A friend of mine was pointing out that the odds for a draw are normally very low, like 10%, but in this fight, that percentage was close to 30% pre-fight. I think even Fury agrees with the outcome. I believe there is a rematch clause in the contract so this isn't over yet.

Congratulations @sports.guy55! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 2000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 2250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

It was a great fight one for the ages