I wish I enjoyed watching baseball. I just don't

A lot of this may stem from the fact that I grew up in a community that was heavily focused on American football and the nearest professional baseball team was really far away. Later in life I would find myself living in Chicago, and this is one of only 3 cities in the USA that has 2 professional baseball teams within driving distance. I still didn't go to the games very often and when it did, I was there more for the social aspect of it with friends than I was for the actual game. Getting a ticket to some of these games would cost as little as $10 but then we would all spend $100 on overpriced beers and hot dogs. That's just the way these games work and I would imagine more of their revenue comes from concessions than it does from actual ticket sales.

This doesn't change the fact that I honestly don't really care at all about the sport and I have some friends that are super excited about the fact that it is playoff season right now, and I try to share in their enthusiasm even though the reality to me is that I really don't care who wins.


image.png
src

I have a friend who is a massive Dodgers fan and right now he is lamenting the fact that they have lost the first 2 games in the playoffs of the National League against the Arizona Diamondbacks. He hits me up with stats when we see one another and I just play along and pretend to have any idea what are who he is talking about. I will never crap on something that anyone is passionate about but even at gunpoint I wouldn't be able to tell you the name of a single player on either one of these teams.


image.png
src

I feel bad for my friend though because he seems almost emotionally attached to Dodger victory and in the past, earlier this season, he would be so excited when the team was doing well at one point (I think) they were leading the entire league in wins. I don't even care enough to find out if that is true now though.

I think my disinterest in the sport stems from my geographical upbringing and the fact that of all the sports that exist in USA, that I was the least talented or had a complete lack of talent, in baseball.

There are so many games in a baseball season too, so if someone was going to follow the sport fully they would have to watch something crazy like a thousand games if they were to watch every game by every team. In my mind that is way too many games for a season but that's the way it has always been I think.

For me, I much prefer a more manageable season with every team having 20 games or less. As much as I like sports, that sort of a season is just a bit too crazy and long. NBA season loses my interest for the same reason. It's too many games!

Sort:  

I think the best experience is being at the live game.

this is probably true of almost any sports. I once went a rugby match before I even understood how the game was played but the electricity of the crowd made it all exciting anyway.

I think I would enjoy watching it live but I don't find it a television friendly game. I struggle with all American sports due to the tv advertising breaks. I would pull my hair out due to the broadcasters ruining the enjoyment aspect. The next Rugby World Cup is in the USA and thankfully for those living in other countries the viewing wont be wrecked.

The next Rugby World Cup is in USA? I'm surprised that they would even want that here. I guess it's the tourism aspect of it.