You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Australia is fat!

Yeah, no different on this side of the world either I'm afraid.

I shop at the budget supermarket in my town and I'd say I must be half the weight of most people in there and I'm 185 cm tall! It does sell fruit fruit and veg as well but must people just head straight to the freezer aisles...

I commute to work on bike and train, I never drive. Train ticket prices just went up 0.2% so relatively speaking they are a snip compared to the increase in fuel costs. In fact, ever since Covid-19 hit and I'm no longer required to be in the office every day, I reckon I'm about £400 a year better off on my commuting costs.

The other thing that gets me is the number of people who drive their kids to school. I walk both my boys to different local schools every morning. We live in a suburban town so the catchment area for both schools is pretty small meaning no one can possibly be living more than about 1km from the school itself. How can you justify driving that? Beyond the cost is the environmental impact both globally and locally, the danger it causes on the road and of course the missed opportunity for some gentle exercise. If it was up to me, it'd be residents parking only everywhere within at least a 300 metre radius of the school.

Sort:  

Seems the whole world is getting fat! In Thailand where I live there has been a massive increase in fat kids. I put it down to uneducated parents that see no harm in feeding their kids garbage from the 711 and other fast food chains - 1 generation ago these crappy outlets didn't exist in the huge numbers they do today. I see school kids eating this crap every day.

Here in Australia and I guess in UK we dont have the fine food culture of say France or Italy so people just eat in a very "fast food" style. Sadly cheap food is fat food and fatness is most noticeable in the lower end of the socio economic scale.

Glad to hear my sentiments are agreed with @talesfrmthecrypt - i think we would get along just fine!