Preventive and corrective maintenance to the car battery terminals | EN/ES

in Hive Motors3 years ago

Hello friends of Hive Motors,

I am going to tell you what happened to me and that possibly at some point it could happen to you, so I want to share my experience with you so that you know what to do and you can solve it yourselves.

battery.jpg

separador HM.png

Today when I was about to go out I had a small setback when I tried to start my car and it did not turn on, which I found quite strange because it had been working perfectly, but today it simply failed to start.

The first thing I did was to look at the dashboard but everything was normal and the battery sensor indicated that it had power, however, when I tried to start the engine it did not start, obviously something was happening.

When I opened the hood of the car the first thing I wanted to see was the battery and I examined the terminals, there I realized that one of them was sulfated causing a false electrical contact.

photo_2021-05-15_18-55-14.jpg

photo_2021-05-15_18-54-49.jpg

This type of failure in the terminals is something very common when the batteries have several months of use, it is simple and fast to repair, but it is necessary to be careful since this type of sulfate can be toxic for the health.

separador HM.png

For this I only needed sandpaper, a screwdriver with a small die (#10) and a small brush for cleaning. That's all.

Let's get to work.


I started by cleaning the area with water and a brush, always taking care not to have contact with the chemical because it can be harmful to the skin, also be careful with the eyes.

separador HM.png

Once the area was clean, I disassembled the terminals to clean each one separately with sandpaper, thus removing any dirt or impurities that may affect the electrical contact.

photo_2021-05-15_18-55-34.jpg

photo_2021-05-15_18-55-37.jpg

photo_2021-05-15_18-55-27.jpg

Once the terminals were cleaned, I reassembled them, adjusted them and tried to start my car again, with the good news that I could now resume my departure plan again. It worked perfectly.

photo_2021-05-15_18-55-30.jpg

photo_2021-05-15_18-55-40.jpg

photo_2021-05-15_18-55-45.jpg

If you ever experience a similar failure, now you know how to fix it.


All photographs in this post were taken by me with a Samsung S9 phone.


separador HM.png

ESPAÑOL

separador HM.png

Hola amigos de Hive Motors,

Paso a contarles lo que me ocurrió y que posiblemente en algún momento les pueda pasar a ustedes, por eso quiero compartirles mi experiencia para que sepan que hacer y puedan resolverlo ustedes mismos.

2.jpg

separador HM.png

Hoy cuando me disponía a salir tuve un pequeño contratiempo cuando al intentar encender mi carro éste no encendió, lo cual me pareció bastante extraño porque había estado funcionando perfectamente, pero hoy sencillamente falló el encendido.

Lo primero que hice fue ver el tablero de instrumentos, pero estaba todo normal y el sensor de la batería indicaba que tenía energía, sin embargo, cuando intentaba encender el motor éste no respondía, obviamente algo estaba pasando.

Cuando abrí el capó del carro lo primero que quise ver fue la batería y examiné los bornes, allí me di cuenta que uno de ellos estaba sulfatado ocasionando un falso contacto eléctrico.

photo_2021-05-15_18-55-14.jpg

photo_2021-05-15_18-54-49.jpg

Este tipo de avería en los bornes es algo muy común cuando las baterías tienen varios meses de uso, es sencillo y rápido de corregir, pero hay que tener cuidado ya que este tipo de sulfato puede ser tóxico para la salud.

separador HM.png

Para esto solo necesité papel lija, un desarmador con un dado pequeño (nº 10) y una brocha pequeña para la limpieza. Es todo.

Manos a la obra.


Comencé limpiando el área con agua y una brocha, siempre cuidando no tener contacto con el químico porque puede ser dañino para la piel, también hay que tener cuidado con los ojos.

separador HM.png

Ya con el área limpia, desarmé y desmonté los bornes para limpiar cada uno por separado con el papel de lija, de esa manera se elimina cualquier residuo de suciedad o impurezas que puedan afectar el contacto eléctrico.

photo_2021-05-15_18-55-34.jpg

photo_2021-05-15_18-55-37.jpg

photo_2021-05-15_18-55-27.jpg

Una vez limpios, los monté nuevamente, los ajusté e intenté nuevamente encender mi carro, con la buena noticia de que ya podía retomar mi plan de salida nuevamente. Funcionó perfectamente.

photo_2021-05-15_18-55-30.jpg

photo_2021-05-15_18-55-40.jpg

photo_2021-05-15_18-55-45.jpg

Si en algún momento se les presenta una falla similar, ahora ya saben como solucionar.


Todas las fotografías de esta publicación fueron tomadas por mi, con un teléfono Samsung S9.


Banner Gregcoin.gif

Sort:  

Congratulations @gregcoin! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 250 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 500 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Account creation and Account Recovery steps
Hive Tour Update - Decentralized blacklists and Mutes lists
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Nicely done, don't let it get as bad as this battery that came into my shop a few months ago.
20210210_085634.jpg

Would you believe that the car was running and drove into my shop like this?!

your comment is very interesting and surprising.