5.0 on The Bench

in Hive Motors2 years ago

Afternoon well it was a mid-ish morning actually pictured.
Hood off, and the power train hanging by a thread.
No better way to start a Saturday morning for a gardening gearhead like myself. Like most of you that find the smell of turned fuel and old oil in the morning, getting it done early is the best way. No body can sleep well knowing that the old ram on that engine hoist could just fail, or does it already have a slow leak?
Will it lower that engine onto the break line I'm trying to preserve?
You know, that shit. Just get up early an pull it out and relax the rest of the evening.
DSC_0001.JPG
Fortunately for me I had the helping hands of my Father in Law and my herd. Youngest on the crew is 3, he's a good hand. Pretty green though. The other is 4, also green. She loves smashing old grease in her fingers, and generally making a mess.
I did also not have to worry about a leaking engine hoist ram on this one. We have a home made crane on the back of a 2500 Cummins Dodge, 4 ton electric wench, with a 2 ton chain come along to raise an lower the boom. Makes it real easy, long as all those curious little fingers stay away from the controls.
DSC_0003.JPG
With the chains round the exhaust manifolds furthest rear of the engine so as to balance well. Goal today was to pull the motor and the transmission. Both gotta come out and it's best to do all the work at once with help. I don't have the most convenient lay out for working on vehicles.
DSC_0004.JPG
As far as I could tell this is getting the cardboard set and ready. When working in the dirt cardboard is key. Even over plywood, that'll get you all splintered up.
DSC_0005.JPG
Checking on the inside man there
DSC_0009.JPG
This particular crew member is 8, oldest of the youngsters. his job in the cab was to help keep the shifter from catching on the body as we slide it out. Even with the transmission mount out of the car the shifter assembly has a cup and grommet situation that allows for that particular part to grab this fragile body pan an destroy it. Fox bodies are pretty thin if you have seen one up close.
DSC_0054.JPG
Told ya I had the right air cleaner decal and all. Not that you didn't believe me previous but Bang there it is.
DSC_0056.JPG
Pretty stock 5.0 here still has the exhaust manifold, didn't even upgrade the exhaust. Clean-ish looking right, save for white paint that didn't make the break-in. The blue did fine. Things just real dusty, been sitting in the field for 4 years.
DSC_0057.JPG
Here she is now though, on the Bench. This time it's a bit different I've got a new parts guy and the camshaft that's going in is the correct lift and duration. Ford can be a fun manufacturer to deal with, in a 302 H.O. the biggest difference is the timing at which the cam has the pistons firing. The result of this timing change is more horsepower than a standard 302. That timing is also found in a 351w. That being said you can get that cam and slide in there or you can bite the bullet and buy the one with all the proper markings.
We did that, and new lifters as well.
More to come on the swap. Thanks for stopping in.

KnottyDaddy, Tied Off

Sort:  

I meant to put the truck one over here so I edited it from over there. Whaddup! You never told me what the price tag was on that toll road violation I got in your truck.

Thanks for making #OutOfThinAir look good.

Yeah. You know I'm not really sure.
Speaking of, is there lots of pay to drive highways out there?

Figured you'd say that.

I've never seen one dude. Not here or in EU, either. We do the majority of our travels by bus or train which aren't free but have been in many autos as well, never seen one. Central and South America, however, even more than New York. Dirt cheap in comparison like Penny's on the dollar but I swear they're every couple miles and toll booth attendants there are fuckin snakes!

years ago I had a 1981 ford mustang, I loved it, I bought it from a friend who had it from a dealer. The degree of conservation was spectacular. They all had to do with my car.
Unfortunately, for those years, the companies required me to have a recent model vehicle, to work as a salesman, and go around the sales territories. So I sold it, and whenever I see one, I feel nostalgic. Thanks for sharing.

Reviving this kind of old car is an art, is not only rebuilding but is bringing a piece of history back into the world, and this is amazing in itself, big hug and hope to see it running on another post eventually :D

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @dandays.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more