C1500 rear end issues

in Hive Motors3 years ago (edited)

Message_1626289960103.jpg
This rear end is not original to this truck. I was told it came off of a '68 Buick Wildcat, but the brake cylinders I replaced fit a '72 Buick Electra, because shopping for Wildcat parts didn't work. My guess is this rear wasn't original to that old Buick either. I've got an oil seal leak on the driver's side, and some noise from the differential. There is a little play in it when I turn it. I'm not sure what to do about it at this point, but my mission today was to replace the oil seal. I expected to find a C clip holding the axle in. There wasn't one, nor was there a slot on the axle shaft to receive one, which makes me wonder if I have the right seal (maybe I'm shopping for the wrong parts again). The axle just slid right out - it seems I didn't have to drain the fluid and remove the cover, if the only purpose was to remove a clip that wasn't there. What wasn't supposed to slide out with it was the seal and bearing.

Message_1626375549569.jpg

The bearing looks like the ones in front, and different than the one I got for a GM 10 bolt rear end from the 70's. I think maybe someone got parts for a '91 C1500 and somehow made them work. It looks like the seal was backwards. It also looks like somebody pounded a race in on top of another race - I can't get a good pic of what I'm seeing - here's a couple of angles:

20210715_163152.jpg

20210715_163216.jpg

20210715_163231.jpg

I don't have the tools to get that stuff off of my axle. All I could do was glob some grease on it and put it back together the way it was. Any advice is welcome.
🛠

Sort:  

Can't tell if impatient machinist, or sledgehammer mechanic 😆

I wish you good luck with this

The shopping list for my next trip to Harbor Freight will include a slide hammer.

What nice pictures you show in your publication, that type of differential that chevrolet left us is very insecure as soon as you exceed the weight or the bearing has some wear it overheats and drops the axle tip.

Here in Venezuela we are used to replace it by the chevy montecarlos that is wedge those if they are eternal.
Greetings and blessings.

Congratulations @operahoser! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 120000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 125000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP