You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 2003 Honda Accord alternator replacement

in Hive Motorslast year

I've also thought that it's strange that rebuilt parts seem more reliable, but after replacing many hundreds, perhaps even 1000 alternators and starters, rebuilt parts have been, in my experience, significantly better. I think the reason is that every rebuilt part is basically rebuilt to factory (or better) specifications, and then each one is individually tested. In production run parts, a factory may only test one unit out of every 1000 that they make. Many rebuild shops will also test to higher tolerances than original factory specs.

Most of the parts I order for this car actually come from overseas, so they should be cheap to maintain almost anywhere in the world, as long as you have access to global shipping. I also have easy access to used parts here in the US, because they sold millions of these vehicles here. At this point, I've already replaced many of the steering and suspension parts, so I'm expecting to get at least another 200,000 miles out of this car. Someday, I may even fix the dents and make it pretty! 😂

Thanks for reading!!