Simple oil change turned into way more than that…

in Hive Motors9 months ago

I’ve been chasing this “clunking” noise in my 2005 Lincoln Navigator FOREVER!! It’s coming from the front and countless times I shaken, pushed, pulled, wiggled… I can’t find it for the life of me. Then on day (I think I made a post about it) I thought I found the issue… NOPE!!! So we limited how much we drove that vehicle… kind of…

First it started as an oil change, then it turned to this…
IMG_6850.jpeg

In order to get under this rig easily to do an oil change, I need to jack it up. My other 2 rigs sit just a bit higher off the ground… Like a lot higher. 4” lift and 35” tires higher… anyway… this oil change evolved into, straightening the steering wheel. When driving straight the steering wheel was off a few degrees to the right. This happened then I changed the rack and pinion steering a while back. It’s an easy fix but the tires have to be removed. So I might as well while it’s in the air…

Then I made another attempt at finding this damn clunking noise. Violently shaking things around and getting all crazy… nothing!!! Then I grabbed the sway bar end link and lifted it up and down… there is movement!! I tore that sucker right outta there and inspected it.

IMG_6852.jpeg

When I put it in my hand and pulled on the threaded part… it moved about 1/4 of an inch. That little ball joint on the bottom is TOAST!!! This will be the 4th time I have replaced these damn things. Granted I’ve had this car since 2010 and put over 100k miles on it…

IMG_6851.jpeg

Mama Splatts had to run to the store and she went to take the Excursion, I said take the Navigator and let me know if the steering wheel is straight and the clunking is gone…. She said,… WHAT?!? the clunking could be gone? I said we will see after you drive it.

Well good news… it’s gone!! She went through some pretty rough roads and… nothing!! Mission Accomplished! Oil change, straight steering wheel, and Clunking noise gone!!

YAHOOO

9730FF78B35142D89349809F353FBB53.png

Your Random
Dose of...

Join us in the Mancave!

93CFC9FF-4DAD-48B2-AEBC-C368B868548F.png

B3BEB29A3854409FBA0F3C7B534887A0.png

Sort:  

More work, but you corrected more problems in the end.

!discovery 29

I needed something to do anyway... LOL

You got rid of the clunking sound and your wife, whhaaatt??

She came back, I wasn't sure if she was or not. 😜😜

Congrats bud, that is awesome. Nothing better than finding a solution to a problem that has been a pain in the butt. You da man bro!

It's been one of those stupid things that's annoyed the crap out of us. Me being me... I wasn't going to pay someone a bunch of money to find it. "Cheap-ass" LOL I knew I would find it sometime.


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our Community and follow our Curation Trail
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program