πŸ‰ [MELN] Weekly EXODE Wrap-Up #35

in 1UP β€’ 2 years ago (edited)

Hello, Pilots!

A bunch more updates on how systems work this week! I will summarize them in the News section, however you can find the full posts from elindos below:

Post #1, overview of Colony Management, orders, and roles.

Post #2, EVERYTHING WE KNOW SO FAR about chemicals and researching them. Very cool post but extremely complex and I'm waiting to form an opinion on any of this until it is in the game because it seems like a learning cliff right now.

Post #3, overview on how designs work mainly focusing on buildings. My favorite part of EXODE.

πŸ“°News:

Colony Management

26uUsAjKTsXCDw7zixZR182JbFKvgzJ9YwsFpTVcRaGCmsqhA1unTgpqZYXHfqo1pqUAD4NXftNS5LAcCtKVpLiRwSGaWdZB6KgnUCH7TEQo4h8NFNorri8TbL5ubsUcqTpkCG6xFCyaCEo67HffK4yZ6AidAeVMm1ugwG.png

From Post #1, we learned a bunch of new information about Colony management and what you how you influence your citizens. The most interesting part in my opinion is that you do not know all information at all times, like in some city builder games. You have to have citizens with those skills and/or in a role that will detect events. Some citizens can investigate other citizens. With this new information, I finally understand the benefits of the Elected Leader Origin. As any other faction, it will be much more difficult to have an accurate feed of events and how your colony is doing (other than obvious ones like citizens dying or being attacked). A mutiny could be forming and you would have no idea! Definitely trying out an Elected Leader deck in the future.

As for managing citizens themselves, you will create teams, give orders, assignments, and write doctrines. Teams, Orders, and Assignments are relatively self-explanatory, however Doctrines are what I'm most interested in. These are essentially the laws of your Colony, or "the way we do things here". For example, you can decide how much food to give citizens or enforce a curfew. This has nigh-unlimited potential and I am very excited to see how your Colony will evolve over time, sort of like Frostpunk. Easy to keep everyone happy and content when there's enough food and no aliens, but what happens when that starts to deteriorate?

Chemicals

26uUsAjKTsXCDw7zixZR182JbFKvgzJ9YwsFpTVcRaGCmsqhA1unTgpqZYXHfqo1pqUAD4MNxWB1zwigEcEZcUUKwvQfArux1n1j6tFHoiNmqKv78oq2pKgHdRRCRky56CWQXXQdHYcXCdddhabd8sRMzKoatq4CwFvZD8.png

As you can see from the chart above, this system is extremely complex, and this is only 1 part. I probably will not fully understand this until I try it out myself, but I highly recommend that you go read the post yourself if you are at all interested. I'm sure πŸ‰ [MELN] Scientist proto26 will write something about this topic eventually!

Design & Production

26uUsAjKTsXCDw7zixZR182JbFKvgzJ9YwsFpTVcRaGCmsqhA1unTgpqZYXHfqo1pqUAD4Cwbb1GVXHVVnwcRZRiH9WfsPaxjsLtKBTSycWaY4gyqNMzrjK7VrLtgd6rfpVp3W96tX1FzA9g9u1yLrGkvxBdTHcU6AvmJe.png

Out of everything In EXODE, this is what I'm most excited about and what I will likely focus on in my colonies once I try out a deck with every Faction. I love production, automation, etc. and will do my best to provide πŸ‰ [MELN] members (and others, for a price) with the best-designed buildings, ships, and whatever else I can make. Even on my Alpha planet I brought a single drilling machine with so many generators that I can run it 24/7. Hopefully upgraded cards went through the Alpha phase because if it didn't then I would have done the math wrong. I'm sure elindos would fix that for me though.

26uUsAjKTsXCDw7zixZR182JbFKvgzJ9YwsFpTVcRaGCmsqhA1unTgpqZYXHfqo1pqUAD4MNxyFRYrQoRRiuCG7wLTdqfVWGWAqdLceGYsVS5hz9b8BWvSy2sjiW3PjikeN9ysWiYEp2myTK1cUTNRYmQ1C7eoB9pebAcv.png

Above is a chart of all the slots you need to fill in order to make a building. There are 2 types of buildings, a "Versatile Space" or a "Specialized Building". SBs are more efficient at a single task, but unable to do anything else. Cards like this Storage Building are an SB themselves:

VSs are more of a "Jack of All Trades" type deal, where it is very adaptable to whatever you need depending on how you outfit it. You can turn a living room into an infirmary as long as you have the correct installations to put inside it.

You click on the slots and give each of them a grade, the higher the grade, the higher quality it will be. Specific slots will require specific types of minerals, IE "Heavy" for load-bearing. Once you do the grades, you can pick a single stat to focus on depending on what kind of building you are trying to make. Then you can change the size and select the use of raw or refined materials. Raw is faster but less quality, Refined is slower but higher quality. I could see using raw materials in the beginning and transitioning to refined later on (if you don't bring buildings with you). After that, you name your design and it is now an NFT! Very cool, and you can expect to see a collection of πŸ‰ [MELN] branded buildings in the future!

exode_concept_resources2_50.png

You MIGHT be able to trade designs in the future, however elindos has said he wants to focus on trading individual units themselves, which I am totally fine with as I doubt I would trade away any πŸ‰ [MELN] designs except to other members. You will need to unlock a Trading License to do this, which I cannot remember if we were told how this will work yet.

Away Teams Updates

There is a new choice for your Away Teams Challenge, called "Medical" which allows you to heal a hurt character's health. Finally, as my pilot (who happened to be my team's guard) was left with 1 hp for a long time now and I couldn't keep investigating resources on my planet. I don't think my Colonization Challenge deck is all that good, but we will see, lol. For a first try, I seem to be doing alright so far!

Resting has gotten some much-needed love in the form of a buff. It now recovers morale. Speaking of, automatic morale recovery (AND MORALE LOSS) has also been added. "Citizens who have less than half of their morale recover +1d6 morale every day. Citizens above 70 Happiness also now recover +1d6 morale every day! Citizens under 31 Happiness also now lose 1 morale every day." - elindos I did not expect a negative thing to be added, so that was a surprise! I am extremely excited for when we get the first taste of Colony Management.

🎁Giveaway:

This week I'm changing it up a bit. I'm going to be giving away a copy of Defensive Ammunition to 3 different winners. Let me know what you think of this in the comments!

Defensive Ammunition

This card can be equipped to your characters (or dropped to a colony) to give them extra ammunition. Not much to say, if you have it, bring it. This gives you the most extra magazines out of the 3 options. May be worth dropping to colony if you have a lot of them. Extra ammo is never a bad thing.

exode_card_046_Rekatron_defensiveAmmo.png

πŸŽ‰Previous Winner:

Screenshot 2022-05-02 141217.png
Congratulations cartel-exode, you have been sent Strategic FOODIE-MOODIE # a09da448a9aec7477439270f99e1366e and WHC Unit # 38e8c592b2aa1e91cfa20fcdfe55f5b6

➑️How To Enter:

  1. Upvote this post
  2. Reblog this post
  3. Comment what you think of the new formatting in the News section, your opinion on multi-winner prize pools, and if you think πŸ‰ [MELN] branded buildings would be a good giveaway reward in the future.

The winner will be chosen by random on Monday, May 9.

As usual, I will be tipping comments with hivepizza!

Sort: Β 

Is good to have a way to heal our characters, phew.
The game is more complex every week, it will be interesing to know how this all will evolve in the future, personally is hard to me track the most of the info so i usually preffer to experiment it by myself insteads of read how it works.
I don't see any problem with the new format and the prizes distributions is still good to me.

!PIZZA
!LOLZ
!CTP
!PGM

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.01 MOTA - 0.05 DEC tokens to @birdbeaksd

remaining commands 1

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND TOKENS!

  • 10 PGMs in STAKE = 0,1 PGM/LVL/ 1 STARBITS / MOTA 0,01 / 0,05 DEC / 2.5 BUDS sent and 1 command available every day
  • 100 PGM in STAKE = 0,1 PGM/LVL/ 1 STARBITS / MOTA 0,01 / 0,05 DEC / 2.5 BUDS sent and 3 commands available every day
  • 500 PGM in STAKE = 0,1 PGM/LVL/ 1 STARBITS / MOTA 0,01 / 0,05 DEC / 2.5 BUDS sent and RECEIVED and 5 commands available every day
  • 1000 PGM in STAKE = 0,1 PGM/LVL/ and 1 STARBITS/ MOTA 0,01 / 0,05 DEC / 2.5 BUDS sent and RECEIVED and 10 commands available every day
  • 5000 PGMs in STAKE = PRIZES DOUBLED

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


What did the shark say when he ate the clownfish?
This tastes a little funny.

Credit: reddit
@birdbeaksd, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @amaillo
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ.
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.
(5/6)

Makes sense. Best way to learn is to play around with something.

Thank you for the feedback.

!PIZZA

I favor the multi-winner approach very much, it leaves room for further growth of the participant number.
Branded buildings would be awesome!! :)

Alright, I'll do more of these then.

!PIZZA

I like the new format for the news section! I think multiple winners to the contest could attract more contestants, too. I've seen some giveaways for Rising Star for example in which the three different winners each win a different NFT card type. Something to consider? Just throwing ideas out there. And I, personally, would love to win one of these in the future:

Photo_1651629460626.jpg

This gave me a laugh!

One day I will offer them as prizes.

!PIZZA

I'm super noob as well and I had a hard time finding time to play so I can't comment on the in-game aspects. As for the giveaway, I like the better odds of getting something, even if it is something smaller, every card help when we start.
Reblogged
!PIZZA

Seems like the majority of people agree with you. Going to do more multi-winner giveaways!

!PIZZA

I find all the additions really confusing tbh πŸ˜…. Especially as a newbie with barely any time to play.

I think what this game needs is a sort of step by step tutorial. Or is there already one which I'm unaware of? 😲

!PIZZA

There are several player guides, but there will also be a refined tutorial deployed when we'll switch to beta! we have to cover all features first!

great to hear that! πŸ˜ŠπŸ‘

I really like in depth games, but it can be quite daunting to start on them.

I don't think it would have been as much of a problem in the past, but although the spirit is still willing, the time constraints of adulthood are unfortunately not. πŸ˜‚

Regarding EXODE you will notice that choices should become intuitive:

for instance, to research something, you put any character to it. It will still work even if you don't put the best character, and the game will also suggest the best character for it anyway.

all required items work intuitively, and the game will also progressively guide players better thanks to ingame tasks and "tutorial quests"!

Elindos is going to make sure that the choices are intuitive as he said below. I'm sure he knows how complicated EXODE can be to a newcomer, and won't let that get in the way of their enjoyment.

!PIZZA

You like to do this to me. But I suppose being a noob is being a noob. Haven't been up on the news, old or new so I can't speak to the formatting. I can't tell you how lame I think this answer is.

Good luck, all.

!PIZZA

Fair enough.

!PIZZA

Very well written post @birdbeaksd !
Thank you for this input and analysis!

A drill running 24/7? That's incredible! Build an outpost and have the engineer live there. You don't want something to break. Time is money

Time is the only resource we can never get back.

!PIZZA

Count me in! Thank you for the giveaway!
IGN: @xheadhunterz
I like the brand new news format and I think the multi-winner prize pool seems more fair and attractive to players, specially newer ones!
I'm trying to register on Exode through your link, but my connection isn't cooperating XD I hope to get it soon!
!Gif thank you
!hivebits
!HBIT
!LOLZ
!1UP
!PIZZA

Put you in the running. Most people agree with you! Will do multi-winner giveaways for the next few weeks.

When you sign up, I'll shout you out in the next giveaway.

!PIZZA

This is a good format, lots of detail and will laid out.
I would say, stay with this format for a bit. As things progress there will be many more details like this to state.

It will be fun to see how this all comes together and gives everyone something only they experience. Like buildings, when I build some I would like them to blend into the surroundings so it is a little more stealthy.

Hadn't even thought about camouflaged buildings! Wonder if that will become a thing.

!PIZZA

Β 2 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
birdbeaksd tipped tinyputerboy (x1)
@birdbeaksd(8/20) tipped @sckoarn (x1)
amaillo tipped birdbeaksd (x1)
birdbeaksd tipped blitzzzz (x1)
spryquasar tipped birdbeaksd (x1)
birdbeaksd tipped proto26 (x1)
birdbeaksd tipped xheadhunterz (x1)
xheadhunterz tipped birdbeaksd (x1)
birdbeaksd tipped amaillo (x1)
birdbeaksd tipped cartel-exode (x1)
blitzzzz tipped birdbeaksd (x1)
tinyputerboy tipped birdbeaksd (x1)
birdbeaksd tipped spryquasar (x1)
birdbeaksd tipped jdike (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!