๐Ÿ‰ [MELN] Weekly EXODE Wrap-Up #50

in 1UP โ€ข 2 years ago

Hello, Pilots!

A ton of information about future updates and Technology has been released this week, along with new card art.

๐Ÿ“ฐNews:

New Beta Origin

It has not been given a name yet, however it will synergize with cults and religious groups, especially the Flesh Cult. There will also be "Religious Orders" in the full game.

"One of this orders has yet to be revealed but it includes male leaders and "female Inquisitors".
Their Inquisitors focus on logic & empathy to detect and root out 'feelings in their order', because feelings are believed to be a source of corruption."

@elindos

Here is an Epic+ card for them, Combat Inquisitor Ravenna Shobel:

inquisitrice_Ravenna_Shobel_700.png

Tech Screen Rework

"You'll now always begin with the DISCOVER tab ; this is the screen from which you launch new projects.
It is also separated between "Summary" (or Status), "Rewards", and Assign/change team.
Summary will tell you the current rank of this technology for you ; this is the rarity you have already discovered.
Rewards will reveal more information about the techs and knowledge points you'll gain if you research it further.
About other tabs of this technology screen:
ANALYZE is there you start a project to study the wildlife/ore/... you gathered with your away teams in the previous challenge.
DESIGN is there to start a project to use a revealed design (gained from a technology) and make your custom new construction or item.
RESEARCHED will be where to browse technologies and GAINED KNOWLEDGE where to see how many knowledge points you have in each area and where to gain some more."

@elindos

exode_techScreen.png

Other Technology Updates

When you complete a Technology, it can unlock:

  • New Unlocked Technologies, of course.
  • New Unlocked Designs, sometimes.
  • Knowledge Points, a precious game reward which will make other projects of the same knowledge domains going faster and better, which is also a way to succeed at a "better rarity" tech loot.

Knowledge Points and Designs will be important for the future game economy of EXODE. You can make productions based on Designs.

Dynamic Quests

Certain quests will always appear, like "Analyze Your Ship Damage", but the content of those quests will vary. IE the Cockpit is damaged in one game while the Engine is damaged in another. Comparable difficulty but different objectives.

Other quests will randomly appear, because they depend on the level of Technology you have acquired. If you unlock the Rare, Epic, or Legendary of a Technology might also unlock a secret campaign/quest line.

Basic Overview of Starters

"A military starter will shine during evacuation but should also be good at exploring a planet and fighting wildlife, thus expanding available resources for a colony.
A scientific starter will shine during these research steps and reach economical value thanks to its research teams, but surviving also requires more. Who would fight? How can they remain hidden?
A civilian starter will be able to get more from its numerous citizens, with more teams, more morale, more strength from colony events. Organization will be required, and it will be at the cost of not being as specialized as other decks!"

@elindos

ETA For the Big Update

As you know, the Colonization update has taken quite a long time to develop. Personally, I prefer this as I'd rather have them do it right rather than do it fast. As @jacobpeacock said earlier, "Good to see exode development is still crawling along."

Next week, though, @elindos will be making an announcement and blog article with the final ETA of the update. I am very excited, and while there is no guarantee it will be the week after next, I would guess that it will be released within the next month.

๐ŸŽGiveaway:

This week, 3 different people have a chance of winning:

1x Syndicate Auto-Blaster

exode_card_070_SyndicateEquipmentAutoBlaster.png

This card is the Syndicate's only non-bound weapon. I haven't tested the weapons extensively enough to know which is the best yet, however this one seems pretty good. The Rekatron SD is my personal favorite at the moment, although if you don't have the money to buy a bunch of weapons or a contract, I think the best weapon for you is whatever you can afford to equip your entire crew with.

๐ŸŽ‰Previous Winners:

Screenshot 2022-08-15 133622.png

Screenshot 2022-08-15 133555.png

Screenshot 2022-08-15 133530.png

Congratulations @jdike, @bfc4exode, and @sckoarn You have been sent LITTLE Buddy # 06085cc94085acfef4eaa4807a5b2b3a # ac6d06cb4b47a595769a949c43a809df and # a2253d60df2c3c3ae1ba00a17a13c539 respectively.

There were too many comments that I loved this week to pick just one, so instead I am giving a GOOD MORNING to the following 5 people:

@blitzzzz, # acdab18510c74376cb706839ab3acb8e

Love the detail in the background artwork.
The shot of the plant actually looks like a macro mode photograph. There's an incredible amount of detail in it. Would be great to see where the artists got their "inspiration" from when drawing that. ๐Ÿ˜ฑ
I'm also really impressed by the artwork for the Elite version of cards. Most card games would just slap a gold border or holographic foil over it, but this one makes subtle (but obvious) changes to the card details. A nice refreshing change indeed. ๐Ÿ˜Š

@sckoarn, # 9b02a795e14ce48a74b773687046b202

Looking at the draft new cards the artwork looks a little more cartoony than most of the older cards. I assume this is because the finishing touches have not been done. The previous cards are smoother in transitions in the colors. It makes them look much more realistic even though you can tell they are art works and not pictures. I like the soft look of the previous issues.
The picture of the plant thing is totally incredible. That kind of artwork showing up as a picture of the plant you are researching would be very cool. If it could be parameter driven generation and create illustrations like that, you would truly have a break through.
Really looking forward to the coming artworks ...

@amaillo, # 9ba3c8cb5585f5e6c6a2ecf868f5c75a

mmm i would like a background with some sort of "filter" that gives to the background artificial movement like in this image

2bP4pJr4wVimqCWjYimXJe2cnCgnJrZ299nFsfzoUMK.gif

@taradraz1, # 9bf6548d767703701546fc987514d95c

I'm loving that colony illustration, i feel this background pictures are really important and the guys are doing a great job with the details and environment feeling.
I can't suggest any changes because i love it, but i can say that the themes maybe can change, i would like to see the same or another picture but red with the house destroyed with a volcano making some damage or something like that, maybe you can re-use the foundation and make another ambient just with some little changes.
Thats it!! love the work keep going.

@bfc4exode, # 9c58d10b16b1015f3a16ec15e7bbe89e

I do really like the idea of creating different art for Elite versions of the card, and the plant is awesome, very realistic looking. The colony background is a nice upgrade from the barren planet surface. It would be fun to have that background upgrade at cetian milestones in colony progress, and if we came across an abandond colony we could derrive the level of progress made there by the look of the ruins and potentially plunder their level correct left items that survived the atmosphere.

I was really impressed by the comments last week, keep it up!

โžก๏ธHow To Enter:

  1. Upvote this post
  2. Reblog this post
  3. Comment what you enjoy the most about EXODE, IE the strategy, roleplaying, or anything else, and a feature you would like to see implemented as part of Colonization.

The winners will be chosen by random on Monday, August 22.

As usual, I will be tipping comments with #hivepizza!

I will also be giving a 'SurPRIZE' to my favorite comment(s).

EXODE is a real-time strategy space colonization game here on the Hive Blockchain. If you still have not bought your starter pack and signed up, use this Referral Code(c956af8) and you'll also receive 2 free Alpha Booster Packs with 5 NFT cards each and a free Epic Alpha Character. For more information and links, check out the developer's page, @elindos and this post by ๐Ÿ‰ [MELN] Head Scientist @proto26. Join the EXODE Discord Server!

Sort: ย 

Yup yup! I definitely said that and absolutely meant it! I am really enjoying the slow methodical approach over the 'hurry up and get it done' approach that many projects seem to take!

Cheers!

I agree for sure.

!PIZZA

What I enjoy the most about Exode is first of all that it is a quite unique gameplay idea. It is not simply a blockchain game, space strategy game etc. etc. that has been copied over and over again, but an original idea. This idea is then implemented in a layered approach trying to find the best use of each element, which creates an incredible amount of strategic choices when fully implemented. A feature I would like to see more of is dynamically generated content, in the same way planets are randomized. Can be hard to do correctly with keeping balance intact, but when done well increases replay ability a lot.

Very true. I have never seen a game like EXODE before. I also agree with what you said about dynamically generated content. It's hard to find a good middleground between completely random and actually fun to interact with.

!PIZZA

What I like about Exode is that not everything is a picture in front of you. As in currently much of the game is left to imagination. The adventure into the unknown, discovering and researching are some of the activities I have always enjoyed while gaming. I think that Exode will take it to the next level and give players a truly original experience.

The pending release of new content is very exciting. Many of the features that are core to the game play look to be included in this coming update. The new UI looks to provide a nice array of options for players to investigate.

The main thing I believe I will enjoy about Exode is the depth of detail. While browsing player API it can be seen that many details are NOT revealed to the players or in development logs. How will all this detail play out and what effects do some of the parameters have? When it comes down to it, for me, Exode is a journey into the unknown. Into space, which I will never really have a chance to encounter.

I am also intrigued by what hidden stats there will be. I'm not going to pretend to understand how to read API, but it is very cool just how much stuff goes in to everything in EXODE.

!PIZZA

I thought I might end up sounding like a smart-ass for saying that "all the waiting" was what I enjoyed the most about EXODE so far. But seems I'm not entirely alone. The clearer way to say it is that I have enjoyed seeing how it develops. I knew it wasn't finished when I started so I haven't been expecting it to be all polished and ready to go. I also like how epic its ambition is. There is a lot going on here, and I look forward to seeing how it all comes together. Or... did I just say "the waiting" again?

The feature I want to see as soon as it is possible is the ability to have multiple games. If that is part of colonization, great. But if not that's fine. I suspect there will be plenty to digest with the next update anyway.

Thanks as always for the giveaways, which I will further thank you for including me in this week.

Good luck, all.

It's cool that you can have multiple games because you can try out a bunch of different decks at the same time. I feel like I may just end up focusing on one game at a time, though. It really depends on how @elindos streamlines managing multiple at once.

!PIZZA

Nice, thank you!
!PIZZA
!LOLZ
!CTP
!PGM
!LUV

I prefer this as I'd rather have them do it right rather than do it fast
same

Mmmm the strategy, i like to think in the best ways to distribute my resources and then after some time have good results by doing it efficiently

For sure.

!PIZZA

As a later arrival in Alpha I have enjoyed seeing the evolution of the game since I have arrived. I also feel progress is quite reasonable given the size of the development and support teams. With that said I am as always impatient for the next big thing which the upcoming release promises to be. I look forward to the colonization loop and a more full featured UI.

What I have very much enjoyed up until now are the planet exploration and preparation, as it existed in the previous playable Alpha. I am mainly a strategy player that learns by playing instead of reading. To that end I would like to see the continued evolution of in game prompts and notes. These really help me understand the context of decisions I make, in turn making the game more fun to play.

I really appreciate the philosophy of @elindos to protect the utility and value of previous assets while incrementally adding new content as exposed by the glimpses into Beta we have had up until now.

Thanks to @birdbeaksd for these weekly updates and the added interest of the giveaways. These giveaways are a great value for budget players like me who arrived in Exode after alpha contracts were distributed. Congratulations to last week's other winners:
@jdike
@sckoarn
@blitzzzz
@amaillo
@taradraz1

Posted using 1UP - Play2Earn & NFTs

Thank you for your witness vote!
Have a !BEER on me!
To Opt-Out of my witness beer program just comment STOP below


Hey @bfc4exode, here is a little bit of BEER from @isnochys for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that you can use BEER at dCity game to **buy dCity NFT cards** to rule the world.

I also believe it is more fun to learn by doing than by reading. I'm sure the future version(s) of tutorials will be much better.

I very much enjoy that @elindos is avoiding power creep without making older (and therefore rarer) cards overpowered while still granting them unique abilities.

!PIZZA

Thanks again! !PIZZA !PGM

I enjoy the most the constant change and development. Unlike a lot of other projects you see/feel there is constant development! A feature... hmmm... I read a bit in the already existing comments and I would agree that "dynamic content", e.g. events would be awesome!

Definitely, for a lot of other projects the developers just don't interact with the community very often.

!PIZZA

I think what I like the most about Exode is the artwork, followed by the lore behind every single card/ability/faction/ ... you get the idea. I do like such detail as it makes the entire world more immersive (if one bothers to actually read).

I love the music/sound effects too, although that could be personal bias as that music brings back memories of when I first started playing Starcraft.

That being so, the entire game with all it's different stats/abilities/and the like, is proving to be rather intimidating to any casual player. Perhaps a "game advisor" for every action you take in the game which can be toggled on/off, much like those used in the Civilization series?

I really like that idea. Would be a good way to guide new players around without being super intrusive to veterans. I'm interested in hearing what @elindos thinks about this.

!PIZZA

ย 2 years agoย (edited)ย 

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
birdbeaksd tipped tinyputerboy (x1)
birdbeaksd tipped jdike (x1)
amaillo tipped birdbeaksd (x1)
birdbeaksd tipped sckoarn (x1)
jdike tipped birdbeaksd (x1)
birdbeaksd tipped bfc4exode (x1)
@birdbeaksd(8/20) tipped @blitzzzz (x1)
birdbeaksd tipped amaillo (x1)
birdbeaksd tipped eyebroo (x1)
birdbeaksd tipped jacobpeacock (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!