๐Ÿ‰ [MELN] Weekly EXODE Wrap-Up #56

in 1UP โ€ข 2 years ago

October/November Giveaways Starting 2 Weeks From Now

I will be going on vacation from October 10 - November 9. @proto26 will handle the 5 ๐Ÿ‰ [MELN] Weekly EXODE Wrap-Ups during this time period (posts # 58 - # 62). Be sure to look out for them on his profile, in the # exode-promotion-posts channel in the community Discord Server or in the #Oneup Community here on HIVE. He is an amazing writer so you are in good hands!

========================================

Hello, Pilots!

This week there have been a lot of backend improvements and some information on future features. @elindos has told me that Version 0.3 is likely going to be released on Wednesday September 28.

๐Ÿ“ฐNews:

Exode_foodWork_800.png

Important Bugfixes

  • "in some cases, citizens were using doppelgangers and clones to make your colony look more populated than it should. They were only illusions. We have purged them. Sorry!"
  • "clicking on an inactive topic (chemicals, wildlife ranch etc) was causing normal topics (crew, tech) to become inactive."
  • "create Team button was disappearing when re-clicking Active tabs & some other user sequences"
  • "some Dangerous Passenger, Unstable Genius, Tech Expert, Socialite and Science Students were not detected properly as passenger generator cards"

Children

Children will be added as part of Version 0.3, which you can get from the "Nuclear Family" card or evacuating passengers during Evacuation. They will be able to be tutored in the future, which will give them skills to join your workforce later on. "Children and their education are normally how you train the best, most adapted characters in the new galaxy, the future heroes of untold glory. There is no "tutoring skill" but social and academic abilities should be good for it. Children and their safety are important for colony morale and happiness, of course, if they are part of your colony."

๐ŸŽGiveaway:

This week, 3 different people have a chance of winning:

1x Defensive Ammo

exode_card_046_Rekatron_defensiveAmmo.png

This card can be equipped to your characters (or dropped to a colony) to give them extra ammunition. Not much to say, if you have it, bring it. This gives you the most extra magazines out of the 3 options. May be worth dropping to colony if you have a lot of them.

๐ŸŽ‰Previous Winners:

Screenshot 2022-09-26 124220.png

Screenshot 2022-09-26 124156.png

Screenshot 2022-09-26 124131.png

Congratulations @bfc4exode, @wolfling7, and @jdike, you have been sent Strategic FOODIE-MOODIE # a8fae742da65f4c520d2509f55f46fd8, # 94eebb4347ac39a72ba5dfe8d4c931a5, and # 9624aa8d089a964ee349f2194414dcc9 respectively.

My favorite comment came from @proto26:

My main research project is analyzing the planet. My best researchers are on the job and I plan to unlock at least 2 more slots for the Casrarene Science team as soon as possible as it levels up. Some teams I left with a free space to have more, smaller teams working. Many people are still idle though. Maybe I'm anticipating more actions (like not just researching construction but actual construction) or more research roles being added. I don't want to have to disband many, if any, teams. Am I thinking too hard about or too far into the future about this? Or is the best strategy right now to go all out and have the entire colony researching?
I've discovered that Eliza makes a great leader for almost any research team.
...
I would be interested to hear your answer to your #3!
...
Weapons in Starters
Weapons are indeed a luxury but not necessarily required to preload before EVAC in my opinion.
Maybe I'm being harsh but doesn't putting weapon/s in starters make them too accessible? Either that or make it super weak like a "practice" weapon having rubber bullets or something. But I think perhaps having maybe one (or several?) rare/higher rarity individual weapons in boosters makes more sense. I imagine this hypothetical weapon being mediocre or... unbecoming? You know, without the flashiness of REKATRON. Haha

You have been sent FIRETALKER # 03bee9f375e5118ef15d72858f8d6841

โžก๏ธHow To Enter:

  1. Upvote this post
  2. Reblog this post
  3. Comment what you think about including equippable weapons in Beta Starters.

The winners will be chosen by random on Monday, October 3.

As usual, I will be tipping comments with #hivepizza!

I will also be giving a 'SurPRIZE' to my favorite comment(s).

EXODE is a real-time strategy space colonization game here on the Hive Blockchain. If you still have not bought your starter pack and signed up, use this Referral Code(c956af8) and you'll also receive 2 free Alpha Booster Packs with 5 NFT cards each and a free Epic Alpha Character. For more information and links, check out the developer's page, @elindos and this post by ๐Ÿ‰ [MELN] Head Scientist @proto26. Join the EXODE Discord Server!

Sort: ย 
ย 2 years agoย (edited)ย 

Thanks as always for the giveaways, and by way of entry...

First, something inside me chuckles that his reward for the question is... a weapon! But that is neither here nor there.

I think having weapons in starter packs is actually a question of balance. If there are big, hard to shoot down nasties out there, then a powerful weapon is the same as a sling shot against a bunny. As long as the starter cards balance against what our teams will be facing, everything works fine.

!GIF pizza !PIZZA

proto26: thou shall not have weapons!

birdbeaksd: have a weapon

!LOLZ !PIZZA

I thought you'd like that!

!PIZZA

I haven't sold a single copy of my autobiography.
Sigh. That's the story of my life.

Credit: reddit
@tinyputerboy, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @proto26

Are You Ready for some $FUN? Learn about LOLZ's new FUN tribe!
(1/1)

Haha, yeah, I thought it was funny as well.

I agree, definitely would not want to give people insanely powerful weapons in a starter pack.

!PIZZA

When i first started out, only half my crew had guns and 3 of those were handguns. My guys in cargo and hall took a very long time to kill someone, and i would usually have some crew die.
This forced me to add more troopers to my crew and to add a gun card to my locker (would rather have more useful item in ship equipment tho.) These changes helped but took forever to move crew to interior, load them and get them on the front lines. This mostly resulted in crew dying again or my ship blowing up. After many attempts i was finally able to complete the evac in military.
Schoarn gave me some more cards and i started trying to complete the evac in science. Now i had guns for almost all, i was able to diversify my crew much better, even if they weren't great fighters. No more wasted ship equipment slot, no more wasted time going to locker, was working much better.
I've completed the evac a bunch of times now in science, with full cargo and passengers, and no deaths. And a pretty decent crew mixup that i would much prefer to be using for these later stages.
So for me i would say yes to having them in the beta packs. And i think new players just starting out would appreciate them also.

I enjoy the first hand perspective from a new player! I'm glad that @sckoarn gave you some weapons.

!PIZZA

I stand by what I said in last week's contest but this time, if there were no other choice, I would include a (few?) melee or defensive equipment depending on the origin. This could be something like riot shields or even a cudgel.

I like the idea of melee weapons in Starter Packs. Could see a set of Stun Batons or something along those lines if there was a Federal or Corporate Origin.

!PIZZA

Thanks!
@listik303

Happy to.

!PIZZA

Thanks for the prize!

Really appreciate the idea, because otherwise you would "waste" precious space and time during evacuation

I agree.

!PIZZA

Counter-suggestion: instead of including weapons in starters, what about characters with bound weapons? Like a guard that is already armed with a stun gun or taser.

That right there is such a simple and elegant solution I cannot believe I didn't think of it!

Would be much easier to balance because you could adjust stats both on the character and the weapon itself.

!PIZZA

I can hardly wait for new features as they are !gif announced by @elindos and turned on! As I have a generator card I am looking forward to their activation, so that my Tech Expert can join the #FUN

It is an interesting idea to have equipable weapons added to Beta Starter packs, but I wonder how it is balanced for the lucky ones to have picked up Alpha Contracts I am sure if the idea goes forward care will be taken to maintain alpha collection value while adding interesting new content!

Thanks to @birdbeaksd for these regular updates and the chance to increase my deck through these giveaways. I think it is #FUN to engage with these posts and think about the subjects put forward for community engagement.

!hivebits

Success! You mined 1.0 HBIT on Wusang: Isle of Blaq. | tools | wallet | discord | community | daily <><

And, you found a BLAQ pearl (BLAQ)!



Check your bonus treasure tokens by entering your username at an H-E explorer or take a look at your wallet.

Read about Hivebits (HBIT) or read the story of Wusang: Isle of Blaq.

I am excited to see the generation cards activated as well. I brought Cryptoeater in my deck who generates two Corporate Bodyguards.

I don't think that adding a few weapons to Beta Starters would seriously effect the value of Alpha Contracts. I think it would just help new players get a taste of the combat system and decide whether or not they want to buy better weapons for their games in the future.

Always happy to.

!PIZZA

ย 2 years agoย (edited)ย 

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
birdbeaksd tipped jdike (x1)
birdbeaksd tipped bfc4exode (x1)
birdbeaksd tipped tinyputerboy (x1)
birdbeaksd tipped wolfling7 (x1)
tinyputerboy tipped birdbeaksd (x1)
@birdbeaksd(3/20) tipped @cartel-exode (x1)
proto26 tipped tinyputerboy (x1)
birdbeaksd tipped proto26 (x2)
birdbeaksd tipped listik303 (x1)

Join us in Discord!

Congratulations @birdbeaksd! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 70 posts.
Your next target is to reach 80 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Balls of Steel - HiveFestโท Petanque Tournament Results
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!