πŸ‰ [MELN] 1UP Operator Weekly Lab Report: eXode

in 1UP β€’ 2 years ago

Photo_1647100240559.jpg
Background produced by our artist, Areto.

Greetings, eXode pilots and civilians! Welcome to the sixth weekly eXode #oneup report! In the past few days, I have been testing the newly released Investigation update! Finally, our queued actions that have been piling up can be implemented! Time to see what new intel we can uncover!

image.png

Every 23 or so hours for the past 14 days, I have been queuing up investigative missions to discover the properties of my planet's plentiful ores.

This is the set-up I have been queuing repeatedly. According to their skill values, they are the best candidates for that role. I also wanted them to get used to these roles and perhaps, later, develop perks related to that role's respective skills. Perhaps this was not the best idea though because the Scout and Observer could potentially get injured. (The Researcher stays at base where the ship crashed.) After losing a certain amount of health (and morale), they are unable to embark on further missions. The actions I would have had lined up would then be cancelled and I'd have 2 weeks worth of wasted actions that could have been used towards training Eliza as a better Researcher or some such. Developer Elindos (Devlindos) stated that he would award compensation tickets (free actions) to those whose games had bugs but he won't hand them out willy-nilly! In the future, I will try to alternate my scouts and observers, though I'll still keep Eliza as the colony researcher.

Vera Bama prep.png
Vera Bama, my Flesh Cult scientist, prepares the expedition.

Many factors contribute to potential events. Preparation affects all rolls made during the mission. I'm particularly concerned when there is a low number for Stealth, Safety, or Detection as these can prevent ambushes, attacks, and incidents.

Screenshot (258).png

A group of Aniavipax! Speak of the devil! I have learned that this creature is vicious despite its very tiny size! (All the creatures on planet Casrarene are tiny except for one which is "immense".) We have also learned something else: the Aniavipax can hiss! Let's see what the damage is.

Screenshot (260).png

Oksana is a trooper. Despite suffering 18 wounds, she only lost 34 health. Only? That's more than half! Oops! Perhaps our observer fared better.

Screenshot (262).png

Oof! Under normal circumstances, Vera Bama would have died! However, for testing reasons, she was spared. After all, what good are testers if all your crew members are deceased?
I guess my strategy failed. I will have to reassign some scouts and observers.

image.png

Screenshot (269).png

In the future, there will be a new daily action called, "MEDICAL". As you might expect, this will heal wounds and replenish health. Once that is released, I'm probably going to be using that a lot. Casrarene is a dangerous place, after all.

Despite being ambushed, the team still managed to discover some of the properties of the ore we are now calling Dark Blue Avuine. Later, the "revealed" intel will be made available to us. The fact that "construction group" seems important since that will likely determine what type of building material we can craft out of the ore. Much remains unknown. That's what happens when you perform field tests and leave the *actual scientists* back at base. Further investigations performed on the same resource will reveal more information. My goal was to investigate each ore (and other resources) at least once. We can likely discover more of the blanks when we recover actual units of the resource and bring them back for testing. I don't know if my crew will survive that many missions though! I am especially scared of encountering the Yellow Ebebopi in the field:

Screenshot (267).png

This is the only creature on Casrarene (that we know of) that is not "tiny" or "very tiny". Compared to Earthly animals, it is the size of a T-rex! It also flies and performs raids in groups. I investigated it in an attempt to find some countermeasures against it. So far, none.

image.png

Our studies of the Tiny Pink Il turned up our first glimpse at biofragments, extractable crafting components!

Screenshot (266).png

Being an insect-sized creature, I can understand why extracting the heart would be nearly impossible. Have you ever tried to skin a mouse? Or a bird? (Probably not!) Their skin is paper thin and everything is so delicate! So I fully feel the pain of my scientists right now! If the biocomponents are toxic, does that mean we could inadvertently poison ourselves in our extraction attempts? (Have you ever tried skinning a skunk?...)

image.png

I have so many questions but I'd rather discover for myself. That's all the intel I have to share for now. Tomorrow brings a new Sol and, with it, more opportunities to investigate the mysteries of planet Casrarene.

What is eXode?

eXode is a real-time strategy space colonization game here on the Hive Blockchain. If you still have not purchased your starter pack, use this referral code (de7ed45) and you'll also receive 2 free Alpha Booster Packs with 5 NFT cards each along with a free Epic Alpha Character!

In the future, these lab reports will contain much more substance (and numbers!) including season objective rewards, legacy rewards (when your game...ends), and of course πŸ‰ [MELN] activities.
πŸ‰ [MELN] is the alliance I co-founded, the Market Expansion Leaders Navy. Our leader, @birdbeaksd, is also the host of eXode's only weekly giveaway. Check that out for a chance to win a Rekatron SD, which will be very useful against your planetary fauna.
For a in-depth guide for anything and everything eXode-related, you can take a look at this post.

Other Useful Links

What is The 1UP Cartel?

The 1UP-Cartel is a mix between a gaming guild like YGG (that invests into gaming assets and creates scholarships for gamers, sharing the gaming revenue), a dividend token (similar to BRO, LBI, INDEX and UTOPIS, paying out regular dividends to token holders from part of the revenue stream) as well as one of the most extensive curation service initiative on the Hive-Engine ecosystem thus far.

image.png

Sort: Β 

Thanks for the glimpse into your game. Well written and informative.
Seems that even with a relatively well prepared team it will still be difficult to survive.

I have been taking it easy on away missions, trying to train and prepare better with my starter deck crew. (no guns) The little demo of the results will let me check what was found on the two missions I completed.

Β 2 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

It will be tough without guns. I kinda wish I had a Rekatron contract now...
That's a smart move though. Thinking back on it, I wish I did more training these past few weeks but I was pretty unsure about who to train and in what. I think now I have a better idea though!
Thanks for stopping by!

Awesome post, had fun reading about your combat experience.

!PIZZA

It was anything but enjoyable for Oksana and Vera Bama! Glad you liked it though.

Thanks for the !PIZZA

!LUV

@asakasa(1/5) gave you LUV. H-E tools | connect | <><

LUV in the dark? The confirmation-reply may soon be turned off. This would be to conserve and replenish Resource Credits. Even while operating in the dark, your LUV command will still go through as usual. You can always monitor LUV in your wallet, at explorer A or at explorer B, or best, in real time at the luv-log channel on Discord.


Tap to help.

Β 2 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!
@proto26! The Hive.Pizza team manually curated this post.

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
proto26 tipped flauwy (x1)
birdbeaksd tipped proto26 (x1)
proto26 tipped birdbeaksd (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Β 2 years agoΒ Β 

I love to see the new graphics in your post. Exode for the win. !1UP

I love to show them off!
Thanks!
!PIZZA

Don-1UP-Cheers-Cartel-250px.png

You have received a 1UP from @flauwy!

The following @oneup-cartel family members will soon upvote your post:
@oneup-curator, @pimp-curator, @thg-curator, @vyb-curator, @pob-curator
And they will bring !PIZZA πŸ•

Learn more about our delegation service to earn daily rewards. Join the family on Discord.

Congratulations @proto26! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 70000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 71000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Thanks for the walkthrough, I can't wait until I can do more than Evac! In the mean time I have to play vicariously through posts like this and discord. It looks like the dev team is progressing nicely on the game, are there any projected timelines for a beta launch?