alien worlds looks amazing now -- time to click the button?

in 1UP3 years ago

Alien worlds is an infamous project on the Wax blockchain that promises to become a full metaverse with many play2earn style experiences. The reason it's infamous is that so far you only have one real gameplay feature: clicking a button.

In the old days, the website looked meh. It worked, but it was not pretty. I was amazed when I logged in today and saw the new look.

070 new look alien.png

This is my inventory page. Everything looks like it's floating in space and the design is absolutely fresh. It's crisp, it pops out, it feels good to look at.

Same Old Alien Worlds Gameplay

When the timer ticks down to zero, I am given the opportunity for the real gameplay. CLICK THE BUTTON!

072 minee.png

After clicking the button, I mine. This results in the ability to click a blue button.

073 claim mine.png

After clicking the blue button, I let the blockchain know that I approve of clicking this button.

074 claiming.png

Finally, I see how much TLM I've earned. I earned about 1/20th of a TLM token.

075 mined.png

Coinmarketcap tells me that a TLM is worth about 20 cents, meaning my button presses add up to a cumulative one cent per round. Hey, it's not nothing!

076 penny.png

Up-Front Investment and ROI

You can start playing for free with extremely weak tools. I don't think those will yield much TLM at all. My set up is to use three standard drills. These drills have a floor of about 23 wax, or about $9.30. That means you need to spend around $28 to earn 1 penny per eight minutes, assuming you're there to push the button.

If you were able to push the button consistently for 16 hours per day, it would be $1.20 per day. This would pay itself off in a month if prices held consistent. If I assume something more realistic - 8 hours a day - it's two months, which is still... not unreasonable ROI.

I mean, 100% in two months is obviously not bad ROI. Of course it only works if TLM stays at this price, if it goes down a lot then all the math is out the window.

Nonetheless, as with many of these weird crypto projects, you have to ask yourself...

Wouldn't it worth it to press a button every eight minutes when you're at the computer for a 100% ROI in two months?

From here I may be able to save up TLM and reinvest some of those profits into more expensive setups. If I can get a mining rig that is even longer between button presses, maybe I can get it to once per 20 or 30 minutes, then it really might not be a bad deal.

I don't know, what do you think? Do you like the new look of Alien Worlds, and do you intend to "play" it going forward?

Sort:  

Interesting changes, but same gameplay a fancy faucet with a twist.
I hope beginning to see a game everytime I check them out.

For sure still mostly just a faucet but perhaps bodes well for some gameplay-related updates soon? we'll see.

Amazing, the UI upgrade looks amazing.