Blockchain RPG - How To Equip Items (with Giveaway!)

in 1UP2 years ago

equipitems.jpg

I've long been a fan of RPGs, so when BlockchainRPG, a project on the WAX blockchain, popped up on to my radar, I quickly checked it out.
screenshot_2022_01_24_5.05.54_pm.png

It's currently in open beta, and the project is moving right along. At the moment it's a good little idler with some basic crafting and questing mechanics. Time will tell where it ultimately goes.

The interface is nice and big. It's colorful and user friendly. But one thing that wasn't apparent to me right away is how to equip items. So I'm going to show you how to equip your gear in this post. I'll be replacing my armor, and at the end of the post I'll explain the giveaway of the armor I'm replacing.
screenshot_2022_01_24_5.44.51_pm.png

The Usefulness of Good Gear

In BlockchainRPG, your heals are time-gated. You can heal every 5 minutes, and you get 5 free heals per day. Heals regenerate after 24 hours. So you really need to make the most of the hit points you have. That's where gear comes in.

Right now there are 2 areas to hunt in the game, Swamplands and Forest. Swamplands can be done with no gear. Forest has much better drops, but you need at least the bare minimum gear in each slot to not get insta-killed when hunting in The Forest.
screenshot_2022_01_24_5.13.17_pm.png

Better gear = less damage taken. Less damage = more hunting opportunities per heal.

Let's Get Our Gear

You can craft, or loot gear. But we're going the easy route here and I'm just going to buy the next best armor piece off of the Atomic Market.

I'm going to purchase The Shellmet (+2 Defense) on Atomic Market to replace the Raggedy Shirt (+1 Defense).
screenshot_2022_01_24_4.54.23_pm.png

After purchasing from the Atomic Market, it may take a minute for the NFT to show up in your WAX Wallet. It won't show up right away in game. You need to reload and re-log in to the game to see it in your inventory.

Stake It First

Open your inventory and you'll see your items and your stats. Right now I have 125 HP, 2 Defense, and 2 Attack. The Shellmet will take that to a 3 Defense.
screenshot_2022_01_24_5.08.19_pm.png

Where you see your items you see a menu of staked and un-staked items. To equip an item, you must first stake it. This is the part I didn't get right away.

Staking is easy. Just click on the item, click "Stake", and approve the WAX transaction.

screenshot_2022_01_24_5.10.19_pm.png

After the item is staked, it appears in your list of staked items and can be equipped by clicking on it and selecting "Equip".
screenshot_2022_01_24_5.11.21_pm.png

Easy peasy, now I'm equipped with the Shellmet.

Un-staking and Transferring (Giveaway Details)

I had to un-stake my raggedy shirt to be able to transfer it or put it up on the market. To un-stake, just click on the item and select "Unstake." Again, easy peasy.
screenshot_2022_01_24_5.09.24_pm.png

Un-staking takes 24 hours. So, after that time the NFT can be transferred. So, 24 - 48 hours after I publish this post I'll choose one person at random (using wheelofnames.com) who comments below to receive the Raggedy Shirt NFT.

I'll comment below when the giveaway is closed, and everyone who has commented up to that point will be entered. I'll reply to the winner and ask for their WAX address. So make sure you've got a WAX address I can send to if you win.

Did The Shellmet Make A Difference?

Let's take a look at my last two hunts. Both were in the Forest. The top on the list was done after equipping the Shellmet, and the one below that was done before.
screenshot_2022_01_24_5.14.09_pm.png

Both hunts were in the same location with the same enemy. You can see that with the Raggedy Shirt equpped, I took 112 points of damage. Out of 125, that doesn't leave room for another hunt.

But the hunt with the Shellmet only 98 points of damage. So, I have a little HP left for an easy hunt in the Swamplands that I think I can survive before having to heal.

Great success!

Again, leave a comment below to have a possibility of winning the Raggedy Shirt. If I haven't commented otherwise in the comments, the giveaway is still open! Good luck!

Sort:  

The winner of the giveaway was @ivarbjorn
screenshot_2022_01_26_4.38.14_pm.png

Drop your WAX address and I'll send you the Raggedy Shirt. Congrats!😁

wow thanks so much! gzfx4.wam

Sent it your way. Should be there in a minute. Here's the transaction: https://wax.bloks.io/transaction/07ed3c5c4005d9d1f9ef3ae2f3836c71024631b2a228c3a843d3a37c967340eb

Have fun!

Thanks a lot.

No problem!

Congratulations @starbork! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 3250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 22

This looks fun! Always loved a good RPG.

Count me in @subidu
zzkfm.wam

Would love to get started with this game but I am getting this error. I will still have to figure this out. But seems like this game is for me, an idle RPG is my type of games since I can still play while working.

image.png

That looks like you need to stake more WAX tokens to CPU. If you are new to wax and haven't staked any tokens, or if you've done a lot of transactions on wax that exceed your CPU power, this could be why. If you've done a lot of transactions in the past 24 hours, typically all you have to do is wait a little bit (sometimes longer, sometimes shorter) to recharge your CPU usage.

Oh seems, like I need more wax to stake in CPU, since I don't have much in there.

I'm going to close the giveaway and draw the winner now from those who commented: aussieninja, subidu, and ivarbjorn. I'll tag the winner.