You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🍉 [MELN] Weekly EXODE Wrap-Up #53

in 1UP2 years ago

Thanks for the updates and giveaways. And for my entry this week...

I am going to touch on the idea of making things more clear to the player as well. I will go back to the evacuation, here. I could have easily missed something, but for me the experience was constantly jumping from screen to screen (locations) and checking how much time was left before I could issue new orders. I would like to see the things consolidated, or simplified.

A single command queue display with all current actions listed in time to completion order would do the trick. Even the ability to scroll back through the information log would help greatly, then I could see the "team member completed X" messages that were often lost too quickly to read. Maybe one or both of these already exists, but if so it wasn't clear to me that they did or how I could activate them. So that would need to be clearer.

But generally speaking, the game has grand plans for having a very broad scope. So, managing the complexity is always going to be key, and the more intuitive the user experience is, the easier it will be to manage the complexity.

Sort:  

Streamlined complexity is often the best design. I have not played evacuation in a while, but I remember having issues with the same stuff you did. I would leave people doing nothing because I had not noticed that they were done with their task.

!PIZZA

I hear you, but what's old is new again if we get multi-gaming and have to do a new evac. Or when we are all dead, whichever.