Pixelart Contest #1 Entry

in Pixelart4 years ago

Hello everyone! I was exploring Hive communities last night and I was excited to see there is a Pixelart community and was even more excited to see that there was a contest going on! I immediately subscribed and decided to participate so here's my entry 😊

Fish Compositionbig.png

So Here's the process I went through.

First, I went over to @krystyglas pixelart tutorial because it had great tips on how to approach pixelart so I learned good tricks from there 😀

Then I started with the first fish. I took this reference picture:
colisalaliaaquariansmallfishespictureid889258368 1.jpg

For this one, I started painting the edges of the fish. I decided to use 9 colors, 3 base colors and 6 different hues of those. 3 lighter and 3 darker.

1.png

Then I filled the fish.

2.png

After that, I painted the blue stripes.

3.png

Then I added red stripes.

4.png

And finally added some highlights.

5.png

That's it for the first fish. Now for the second one I did a similar process. I started with the outline and went from there. For this one I used 12 colors. Not sure if I ended up using them all but I think I did. 😅

Reference

17MostPopularFreshwaterFishArticleBanner.png

Screen Shot 20200720 at 1.17.01 PM.png

Made the blue stripes.

Screen Shot 20200720 at 1.17.21 PM.png

Then the orange body.

Screen Shot 20200720 at 1.23.13 PM.png

And finally added some details.

Screen Shot 20200720 at 1.36.06 PM.png

And for the third fish I found much easier to fill the shape first. I used 10 colors for this one.
Reference

5c366e3fce3661.30579854.jpeg

Screen Shot 20200720 at 2.54.28 PM.png

Decided to work on the tail first.

Screen Shot 20200720 at 3.03.55 PM.png

Then applied the same ideas to the rest of the body.

Screen Shot 20200720 at 3.23.59 PM.png

That's it! 😋

Sort:  

This is amazing <3 Beautiful attention to details, you interpreted the reference perfectly :D
Thank you for joining ^-^

thank you so much, I'm glad you liked them. The fish theme was definitely an awesome choice.

So cool. My son was showing us pics from this old video game that was in 6 byte I believe. The graphics actually looked pretty good. Your work is much better than anything I could do. 😁👍👍

Thank you for your compliment 🙂 I also love old games because of their 8-bit art and music.