LOW SELF-ESTEEM : How I overcame low self-esteem

Low self esteem in my knowledge is when we tend to perceive ourselves in a pessimistic and critical way.it's also means not regarding yourself highly.
Personally, I have been having low self esteem for years now.This low self esteem became very obvious when I had admission into secondary school and tertiary institution.
In my secondary school,I didn't have friends because I felt I was ugly,I wasn't good enough,I was a weirdo or a freak so I distanced myself from people and social activities because I just wanted being alone and not being seen in the crowd but it's affected me greatly. I do feel sad,lonely,unloved and wished to be like other students.i can remember the jest of my students and teachers just because of my facial features.i still have those scars and anytime I remember my high school experience,I shed tears. High school graduation was like being freed from the shackles of chain. Because of my high school scars,I became so pessimistic about myself that if a young guy walks up to me and tells me I am beautiful, I become so furious because I feel he is making jest of me. But the good-news is that I have been freed from the shackles of low self esteem by doing these few things:

  1. Accept Yourself For who you Are: yes!! I have flat forehead and so what ??? I love it like that just so you know because I am beautifully and wonderfully made by God(Be optimistic). Don't ever wish to be like someone else irrespective of your flat ass,flat breast or body size because you don't know what they are going through emotionally, mentally, spiritually or otherwise even tho they are physically okay.
    You are a full spec so be damn proud of yourself.

  2. Stop pleasing others: Because of my low self esteem,I tried doing things just to make people happy.i wasn't assertive.my yes wasn't yes and my No wasn't No till I became assertive and knew my value and worth.

  3. Discover your passion be it singing, cooking, dancing, drawing and be best at it and people will come to you instead of you going to them.

4.Build positive relationships with people who knows your worth and value and accept you for who you are and not what you are not. Relationships that will improve your total well-being.

  1. Be kind to Yourself,make yourself happy, invest in your skin,hair, clothes and look good.

Sort:  

When you are right, you must always walk with your head held high! Wise words

@tipu curate

Hi dear @blessingjohn, welcome to the community we are very happy to have you here 🥳, having low self-esteem is something that can lead us to suffer a lot, but when people around us are also cruel and take the audacity to say things about our appearance, this can become a situation too difficult to handle.

It's too bad you went through this, but good that you have managed to overcome this and now you feel great about who you are and how you look. The tips you mention are very helpful, thanks for sharing them with us.

We noticed that you are new, so we invite you to read some useful tips to share your publications in our community https://peakd.com/hive-102879/@hive-102879/guide-to-publishing-guide-to-publishing

Thank you very much for sharing your personal experience with us and also how you have managed to overcome low self-esteem, a hug and we hope to see you here 💓.

if a young guy walks up to me and tells me I am beautiful, I become so furious because I feel he is making jest of me.

Well, truth is that you are beautiful, so you really have an apology to tender to all you lashed out to for telling you that 🙄

It's glad you have your self-esteem back... Never lose it for any reason again
We all are unique and you don't need anyone's approval to know

Thank You so much.
Because of my low self esteem I missed a lot of opportunities and I do regret.

It's glad you know it now and you will have to gain all those things back

Congratulations @blessingjohn! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 50 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Recap of the Final
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!