Sadness// The last day before his death

Death comes unexpectedly, bringing pain and disbelief. It surprises us when we least expect it.
As I pick up my phone, memories rush back, reminding me of the deep sadness when I lost a close friend during my school days.

Pexels

Words can't fully express the sorrow I felt, but all those help us cope with our feelings. Typing each word is like paying tribute, reminding me how fragile life is and how much our loved ones mean to us.

It was Thursday, a day when we don't normally have full lectures because most of the lecturers attend meetings. On such days, we would turn half of the day into a fun day as we go to a particular hall that's not being used to charge our phones before we go home.

Pexels

This Thursday, after we had finished our lectures around 11 am, Edmond, one of my friends in our department, walked down to me so we could go and charge our phones. At that moment, I needed to attend to something, so I begged him to help me go and charge my phone while I came to meet him later. Under normal circumstances, he was supposed to decline the request because it looked somehow for one person to go to the hall alone, but he didn't. He accepted, and I gave him my bag containing my phone, power bank, and chargers, and he left.

What I was doing lasted for eternity, and all through, I had this nagging feeling in my heart, hoping that Edmond wouldn't get upset by my delay and possibly remove my phone from charging because it would look like cheating. You know that kind of feeling. I was done with what I was doing, and I immediately rushed to the hall. Upon getting there, my phones were still intact, and surprisingly, he offered me a meat pie to eat. It was a shock to me because instead of him pouring his anger at me for delaying, he gave me a food gift. I accepted, thanked him, and ate. We stayed and had a chat until 5:00 pm when we decided to go home.

Oh, before I forget, Edmond was supposed to travel home that Thursday evening for the weekend.

So when I went to school the next day, which was a Friday, and met our coursemates talking about his death, it was so unbelievable. I didn't believe it at all until I reached out to someone who knew his home in the village, and the person confirmed that Edmond was dead. He died of a sudden headache on Thursday night after his parents rushed him to the hospital, but nothing could be done to save him.

At that moment, the last memory of him, which was just a day before that day, began to flow into my brain, and it was just so hard to comprehend...He charged my phone even when I was away for a long while, and he also bought me a meat pie. Ohhh! What a life.

Such is life 💔

THANK YOU!

This is an entry to Day 9 of #mayinleo prompt.
Check out this post to see full details and join.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Congratulations @divineceo1! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 10 posts.
Your next target is to reach 20 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

I didn't expect to feel empathy about his death, bro. Sending my deep condolences and may his soul rest in peace. 😌