The Dove

While on a zoom meeting a day or two ago, my little dog Sasha must have been bored or impatient for her dinner while I was still busy. Suddenly she came in from outside and settled on her bed under my table, proudly holding a dead dove in her mouth. The dove was clearly not newly killed so I did not worry that Sasha was becoming too predatory, but dogs will be dogs.

Without disturbing my zoom group I reached quietly down and took the bird away from Sasha, enfolding it in her red blanket and placed it on my table. I don't want my dogs considering birds as prey or any kind of reward. We have large families of doves in our trees and I want them to stay safe.

After the meeting I took the bird outside planning to bury him with respect. But I realised immediately this small garden of mine had no space to bury even this little carcass, where Sasha would not dig it up again. So I placed the bird in a shoebox lined with batting and for now put it into the refuse bin which my dogs cannot reach nor would they try. It was all I could think of.

Until the middle of the night when I awoke suddenly flooded with the saddest feelings. This is not usual for me. So I asked why? And waited. Then the answer arose clearly; I knew it was the sorrow of the bird, discarded into the bin as if it had no value, as if was not also a meaningful part of Life. I knew I had to correct this wrong and earnestly resolved to. But I still could not decide what to do when I woke the next morning and I had meetings and errands all that day and could not focus any time on the dove in the box in the bin. I let myself procrastinate, forgetting my promise. Until I was woken again in the middle of last night feeling unsettled "You must bury the dove, somewhere away from the here, but do it." This feeling was not to be put aside.

So this morning, after taking my dogs for a long walk I locked them in the house, took the box with the bird out of the dirt bin and with my small garden trowel in my other hand, I searched for a place the bird would be at peace. Amid a stand of reeds at a canal a short way from my house I found a shaded spot. It was easy to dig a substantial hole in the dry sandy ground which I hoped I had dug deep enough that no other animal would catch the scent of carrion. Then I gently placed the bird in his final resting place and covered him with Mother Earth.

And the strongest feeling rose inside me again, this time of relief. I shed a few unexpected tears, said a little prayer for this dove and greeted him for the last time. Then I went home and threw the box into the bin.

Sort:  

Hello @esmaralda9 . We are glad you are part of our community 😁.

We noticed that your image is not giving the corresponding credit. It is missing to say if it is your property or if you took it from somewhere on the web, which belongs to someone else. This is of vital importance. Since this is a fundamental requirement in our contents, it facilitates the work of the curators, and prevents you from being accused of plagiarism.

We recommend you to study the following:
Correct use of sources (in Spanish).
Newbies Guide (in English)
Resource Guide (in Spanish).

Please feel free to apply that knowledge even in this post.

Also, we all make an introductory post in the community of our choice, saying who we are.

Best regards.🌟

Hello @esmaralda9! This is @traciyork from the @ocd (Original Content Decentralized) curation team. We noticed you shared your first post here on Hive - congratulations and welcome! It would also be awesome if you could do an introduction post, so our community can get to know you better. For information on how to write an intro post, please check out the SELF INTRODUCTION section of the post 3 things Newbies should do in their first week on Hive.

Speaking of community, we have many different ones here on the blockchain, devoted to all kinds of interests. Here's a link so you can check them all out - Hive Communities.

Also, as Hive can sometimes be quite confusing, the newly launched Newbies Guide should be helpful to you, as it is a growing repository of useful and easy to understand posts about how the Hive ecosystem works.

Please be aware that Hive is a bit different from other social media platforms since you are monetizing your blog, so it is important not to include content that you don't own without sources (and it shouldn't exceed 50% of the post). For more information, check this post - Why and How People Abuse and Plagiarise by hivewatchers.

For now, @lovesniper will follow your account and we are looking forward to seeing your intro post. Also, please mention (also known as tagging) @traciyork & @lovesniper in your intro post in order for us to be notified, so we can consider your post for OCD curation. Lastly, feel free to hop into the OCD Discord server if you have any questions!