Hurt-When things go south

How many of us remember that nursery rhyme that says “Please and thank you, they are the magic words”? I have come to use these words more than anything, to me it doesn’t harm anyone to say these words.

I do not like to see people sad, it breaks my heart to see people sad especially when I discover I am the cause of their pain. Once I realize I wronged you I am so apologizing like my life depends on it, I even go the extra mile to try to make you laugh, people around me know that I have a first-class in making people feel better🥰

IMG_4589.jpeg

I keep telling people that the world is so chaotic and people are going through a lot, in that light don’t ever be the reason why someone feels sad, second guesses themself, or feels small.

I care about people’s emotions a lot that’s why I apologize to avoid drama or bad blood but then again I know when to draw the line.

Something really annoying happened a few months ago, I met a hair vendor and one thing led to another and we became pretty close, our relationship moved from a business one to that of friendship or so I thought.

Theresa was so good to me even though I didn’t have the money to constantly patronize her, I took it upon myself to refer people, my referrals were quite good as I knew the right words to say to people to make them choose Theresa’s brand. I was not doing this for any commission I was doing it for a “friend”.

IMG_7420.jpeg

One good thing about referrals is that a referral tree can be formed from one person and I was that person.

Theresa’s business was booming as she was beginning to have so many clients and I did not fail to express how proud I was of her as that’s what friends do, they cheer you on consistently and they become your bragging rights.

It all happened after a few months. A very close friend of mine was getting married and this particular wedding was important to me, Theresa knew as I had informed her a month before the wedding that I would buy a new hair from her, she was ecstatic and promised to give her best.

As the wedding drew nearer I sent her the money for the hair, that is importing and wigging it, and kept reminding her of how close the wedding was and she kept assuring me that she had everything under control.

IMG_7416.jpeg

The days were running so fast and before I knew it, it was five days to the wedding and my so-called friend had still not delivered my hair and all I could get was “calm down you’ll get it”.
One thing that kept me calm was the friendship we shared and I knew for a fact that she wasn’t going to disappoint me as she knew how important the wedding was to me but I was totally wrong!

A day before the wedding I kept calling Theresa but Theresa didn’t pick up or text back. At first, I was really worried as it was never like Theresa to go under the radar as she was always active to attend to customers. I went to her shop and was told by the security that she had traveled. God, I was so mad, disappointed, and frustrated. Long story short, I had to look for what to do with my hair.

After three days Theresa showed up at my house while she was explaining the cooked-up story she had prepared before showing up at my doorstep, I got angry, I said so many things and I didn’t care if she was hurt or not because at that moment I had it up to my neck and couldn’t hold it in again. I was unapologetic.

Me saying sorry after spewing everything because I wanted to save drama would have been a very terrible decision and I wouldn’t do such.

This is in response to @kenechukwu97 The Thinker’s corner prompt.

All images are mine except otherwise stated.

Thanks for stopping by
Loads of Love🥰🥰
XOXO

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Your experience with Theresa highlights an important reality: it's essential to know the limits of our generosity and patience, especially in relationships that oscillate between the friendly and the professional. You acted with great benevolence in supporting her business without expecting anything in return, which testifies to your altruistic nature. However, the wedding incident highlights that even the closest of friendships can sometimes let us down, especially when professional commitments are at stake.

It's admirable how firmly and unapologetically you handled this situation. It shows that you respect not only others but also yourself. Your reaction was justified and necessary to express the importance of trust and reliability in any relationship, be it friendly or commercial.

#dreemerforlife

However, the wedding incident highlights that even the closest of friendships can sometimes let us down

Things like this would only make people not to believe in friendships. How do I love you so much and you end up treating me like the rest of your clients?

@genesisledger thank you so much for dropping this beautiful comment on my post, this means a lot to me🥰

You're welcome! 🙏

Lol... How come the Theresa of our era is so different from the reputable Mother Theresa who's well celebrated all over the world? Haha.

You see all these business people who deal in hair, fashion designing, catering, and stuff. Hmmm... When they want to disappoint someone, they do it in a way that the disappointment will sneak under your skin and go straight for your bone marrow.

It's awful. At some point, I wonder if they are even affected by all the things they are told. Despite everything you said to Theresa, I won't be surprised if she disappoints someone else in that same manner.

A lot has changed, I guess Theresa of this generations don't deserve the name 😆

Lol... The Theresa of this generation are rewriting history of Mother Theresa. haha

How come the Theresa of our era is so different from the reputable Mother Theresa who's well celebrated all over the world? Haha.

It's the 21st century bro!! so many new generational "Theresas"😂😂

You see all these business people who deal in hair, fashion designing, catering, and stuff. Hmmm... When they want to disappoint someone, they do it in a way that the disappointment will sneak under your skin and go straight for your bone marrow.

Likeeeee you just can't trust them anymore!

I can tell how pissed she made you and it's doesn't make sense for her to disappoint someone who has recommended your brand to different customers.

I would have done the same if I was in your shoes, she definitely shouldn't be expecting a sorry from me. People can be really annoying, I wouldn't take that too.

People can be really annoying, I wouldn't take that too.

Yes, people can but it hits differently when they are your friends.

This kind of experience can be disappointed. No matter the content of the cooked up story, it can't remedy the pain and disappointment. It punctured your future trust in her words.

Yeah true and it ultimately ruined our friendship sadly.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 190 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
14

Ouch.... Mother Theresa no try oh but you sef no try, don't you know I make hairs 😂😂😂

That was an experience to remember... Omo
Handwork people can be annoying... Thank God you found an alternative

This Theresa babe really fall hand o. Why was she giving you flash hopes when she knew she would not meet up with the deadline, that's not right.

The fact that you said what's in your mind to her should make her reflect on her ways and chandge for the better. No apologies necessary for being honest dear.

Fabulous #dreemerforlife

It is really sad what someone, who you call a friend did to you. I feel hurt on your behalf as well.
Such a height of disappointment- it's an utter lack of respect and love.
To disappoint a stranger can break me not to talk of a friend. I would prefer to not take up a job than promise and not deliver.
Most of these handy work people who disappoint do so out of pure greed. They want the money but know they can't deliver- it's sick.so sorry dear big !hug

Dear @ibbtammy, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @whitneyalexx.
(2/3)

That's so nice of you. Being able to cheer people up when you know you are wrong after apologising is great.

Your friend really messed up. What she did was uncalled for, and she really did cook up something to tell you. Since she has collected payment, she needed to keep her promise, which she broke.

I hope she learns and improves her attitude so that she won't lose more people.