Evoking happiness

With much haze going around the world, hardly giving a space to breathe or be happy yet, there are a few things that I can run to that, even for a moment, would bring me significant gladness. Tranquility often precedes happiness for me, so I have little to worry about. Yet, being calm does not translate to being happy; however, it's a precursor for me.


I have a friend whose happiness lies primarily in two things: money and cake. Yeah, once I need to bribe her for anything, it's those two things that I can manipulate to get her out of the unpleasant mood she may be in. Personally, I won't deny that money makes me happy. In fact, lots of it, especially when I have no debts or commitments to make. Money makes me happy, and I believe this is true for many people.


IMAGE CREDIT

I have a habit, however, which is to put on my WhatsApp status memes and skits. These are usually fun to look at, and they have the potency of evoking laughter and excitement within me. In addition to my regular updates, many people have found solace in my WhatsApp status updates, commending me for the funny skits and memes that they revert to after every day's work. I remember receiving calls and messages when I reduced the number of skits I uploaded. This showed people consciously sought me out in concern. Sometimes, I received airtime and data as gifts in appreciation of my efforts to make them happy. I usually smile when I receive such heartwarming accolades for how much people look forward to my status updates.


IMAGE CREDIT

It is probably uncommon, but I find happiness when I am able to help someone who cannot return the favor. My most vivid experience was around February this year, when I went out of my way to secure a pint of blood for a sickle cell patient who had challenges securing one. His smile was pure and sincere when I woke him up about 6:30 a.m. with a pint of blood in my hand. I was touched to the marrow seeing him smile as though his favorite meal was brought before him. Being kind to a fellow human, especially those that cannot repay you, and most especially strangers, gives me lots of happiness.



Finally, I love watching interesting and funny movies, and an example is Jexi. I love to laugh and forget my troubles while lost in the ecstasy of events in the movie. Even though I love to watch movies with messages to viewers, I just love to enjoy the drama in movies. Probably movies like the Mr. Bean series, Tom and Jerry, etc. were the cue my happiness hinged upon.


Overall, happiness stems from within me. I wonder how I stay unflinching when trials hit me, perhaps because I have had a lot of them or because I have trained my mind to stay positive, optimistic, and happy as much as possible.

You can participate in such prompts as above through the daily and monthly #inleo topic initiative HERE



Thank you for reading. I would love to have your comments and contributions.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Hello dear @jjmusa2004 🙋‍♀️

We thought it was great the habit you have of sharing memes in WhatsApp status. We also have contacts with that habit and the truth is that they steal a smile on those gray days. 🌟

Simple things are not to be disregarded. 😉

Thanks for your valuable opinion on this topic.

Thank you very much. This is heartwarming.