An unsatisfying feeling while helping a friend

Greetings, everyone!

I've come to understand that the love and care we give out, somehow return back to us, sometimes in ways we never expected. It's just like the old saying, "seedtime and harvest"; as long as you're planting, you'll surely reap. I've seen many situations where a show of love was given to a dying person, and years or months later, this same person was saved by another in the same manner.


Image source

This prompt reminds me of one such encounter I had two years ago when a friend begged me for ₦1,000 (less than $1) to buy food because he was hungry.
Actually, the guy wasn't really my friend; he's just someone I met online in a WhatsApp group, and we occasionally talked.

That particular day, he messaged me, pleading for ₦1,000 because he was hungry and needed it for food. Upon seeing his message, I paused and smiled because he's not the type to usually ask for money, especially for food, as he often shared screenshots of his crypto earnings in the group. It made me wonder if he was just testing if I was stingy or not.

We started chatting, and I learned that he really needed the money, maybe not just for food, as I doubted that. At that moment, I only had ₦1,000 in my account, which I was planning to use for a very low-budget meal to pass the day. However, seeing how boldly he reached out to me, I decided to give him. I asked for his account number, and he instantly provided it. I transferred the ₦1,000 to his account and waited for him to confirm if he had received it and at least say "thank you," but he never did.

Image source

To make sure he received the money, I took a screenshot of my transaction and sent it to him, but he saw it and ignored my message, which really upset me.

"I've sent the money, have you seen it?" I asked him, to which he replied with just "Yes," without even a "thank you" as a show of appreciation.

At that moment, I felt really angry. I had sacrificed my last bit of money and sent it to him, and he couldn't even say "thank you." What kind of person does that? I found it really hard to believe, but eventually, I let it go and chalked it up to a mere act of caring that we give to people, even those who don't deserve it.

That day, I had to withdraw some money from my savings, which I had no intention of touching for anything other than emergencies, just to buy food.

Till today, the guy has never shown any appreciation, and I never asked him to. Every time I think about the scenario, it makes me laugh out loud.

Guess what? Something bigger happened that day: a lottery from MTN telecommunication company was announced, and I decided to try my luck. I ended up winning ten times the amount I gave the guy that day, which I used to buy a power bank.

Sadness turned to happiness. Lol 😅

Thanks for reading


This is for day 1 of #mayinleo prompt.
Do well to read the full details here

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

There's always a blessing on every disappointment o. What the guy did was unfair, maybe he was not trained that way, I mean to show gratitude.

Fortunately, your acts of care was rewarded immensely. Well done bro

Wow, what a jump from 0 to 100 within split seconds. Must have been a very happy day for you.
Your kind gesture was rewarded

Yes oooo!
It was a big miracle day for me. It made me not to pick interest on why the guy didn't thank me for helping him.

Thank you for stopping by
!BBH

@graat! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @kingsleyy. (3/20)

Well received, thank you.

True.
Thanks for the BBH😊

🎉 Upvoted 🎉
👏 Keep Up the good work on Hive ♦️ 👏
❤️ @nkemakonam89 suggested sagarkothari88 to upvote your post ❤️

Thank you and big ma, @nkemakonam89 🥰

@kingsleyy, you are most welcome!

Here is !ALIVE token gift for you
Here is !LUV token gift for you

kingsleyy, hivecurators sent you LUV. 🙂 (8/10) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

You really did well for the guy and God rewarded your kindness.
Looking forward to read more of your posts.