Five Things That Helps Me Overcome Depression & Anxiety

photo-1516585142943-4341daf22d5f.jpeg
Image from unsplash by Kat J

It's been a while since I pulled up the trigger to bring up a post on my hive account. I feel ashamed cause my hive account isn't growing the way I want it to be 😫, I better say my account is moving slower than that of snails. There is more to me than staying offline on this amazing platform. I can say I am at a stage in my life where I need to study harder and harder.

Am done with my secondary school days and am about to move forward into university. This has been giving me headaches all this while and that is the major reason I am offline on hive, I just achieved victory at my Joints Administration and Matriculation Board (JAMB) exams and am a bit free to pull on the trigger on hive hehehe.

The fact that we can't avoid getting into stress or trauma in our daily lives has been one of the reasons why depression and anxiety exist in our life.

Depression and anxiety are often described as a strange feeling that pulls humans down through sadness, overthinking and more.

Depression and anxiety aren't just a strange feeling, they are well defined as a mood disorder that causes a persistent feeling of sadness and loss of interest. Source

Depression and anxiety are often regarded as some of the reasons why people commit sucide. It is a strange feeling that we can't avoid, in order to be on the safer side we have to learn how to overcome them.

Here are five steps that usually help me overcome depression and anxiety

  • Identify the source:
    One of the things that makes solving problems easy is by identifying the source. Taking note of what brings in the depression and anxiety is something I usually do when I feel depressed, though it hard for me to just look for a means to identify the source of depression when am depressed because I will be carried away in thoughts but no matter how long am carried away with thought there will always be a flashback of what made me depressed through that I strike my arc in identifying the source of what made me depressed then I will do according to the next step.

  • Building confidence by making decisions: It is a pretty hard thing to do, yes it is. To be strong when feeling depressed isn't easy. It 's kinda easy for me though since this steps of mine have mastered me hehehe. By the way, depression and anxiety don't just take control of our emotions for nothing. There should be an open door that leads them in. After identifying what the open door is, the best thing to do is to build up confidence and make a decision. What will the decision be about? Making decisions that will fight against depression, a decision that will build up a confidence in closing the open doors where depression comes in, am not saying you should consider locking ya heart to avoid depression and anxiety lol 😂.

  • Music: Music drives in inspirations. Whenever I feel depressed over a particular thing one of the things that makes me overcome depression quickly is listening to music. Listening to music will create vibes for me to dance away depression, most especially when I am listening to amapiano beat or afro beat I can't just stop dancing. Music stands as a strong shield that helps in overcoming depression.

  • Moving along with extraordinary Humans: Yep, moving along with extraordinary Humans overcome depression, who are extraordinary humans? Basically from the world extra ordinary humans it may sounds as if am referring to people with super powers but nope. I call people sometimes friends or relatives that makes me smile and help me in getting rids of problems "Extraordinary Humans" people says a friend in need is a friend indeed, people who are there in times of trouble will help in overcoming depression all we have to do is to move along with them by speaking up.

  • Making up my Mind: The mind is a strong thing that creates an expression of what the atmosphere in us will look like. We can decide to be happy and sad in times of trouble. Making up my Mind when I am depressed really helped me a lot to overcome depression. How is that true? I was able to understand that where our mind is, we will find our attention there. Making up my mind to get rid of depression will eventually create in me a spirit that will lift me out of depression though it is not easy lol.

This are the steps that makes me overcome depression and anxiety. We can't avoid them we gotta learn how to control them!


What do you do to overcome depression and anxiety?


°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°

If this blog post has entertained or helped you, please follow/upvote/reblog

2bP4pJr4wVimqCWjYimXJe2cnCgnM53ji2LoSX2a9qo.gif

7ohP4GDMGPrU6KTuuW27Tq6en5JYHcVeXL6fAJ1RujUw3NULjf8Ndi8hgZ9Y3ysiL2Lruq6sgi2Cz9P9AQEEvXXACgLyKc6gAuZX.gif

Credit: Gif by @doze

Thanks for stopping by!
Sort:  

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @bhattg by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Depression isn't a good thing. People under depression are very heard to please... Though the point you state are good point but it takes more than that.. Those with first stage depression can easily overcome it with the help of those point but those with deep depression should continue to see a therapist. I know a friend.. Damn.. Its not a good thing

Congratulations @officialrosh1! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 700 comments.
Your next target is to reach 800 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - May 15, 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!