I Was Disappointed By A Home Service!!!

in Emotions & Feelings15 days ago (edited)

1000236735.jpg

Have you ever had a day planned out perfectly, you feel everything would go as you expected, and at the end of the day, you will feel fulfilled having everything accomplished, only for things to unravel because someone didn't keep to their words?

It's frustrating, sad, disappointing and pissed when you are counting on someone to show up like you truly trust they would turn up, but they don't. Whether you are waiting for a call which someone promised to return, expecting a delivery, or in my case, a scheduled home service appointment, it's disappointing when reliability falls short.


I met this lady at the secretariat while we were doing our monthly clearance as Nigerian youths, this is a day being set aside once a month to come over to the local government to get your document cleared for the month, failure to do that would cause you not to receive your monthly allowance. It is that time that I feel so stressed at the end of the day because a lot of corpers are always attended to while standing in queues waiting for our turn, sometimes the system is always slow making the timer go longer than we expected — we have no choice than to wait for each person's turn for their biometrics.

I was standing in a long queue as I was at the back, uncomfortable as I was that day, I couldn't control myself anymore but had to endure the pain that came with standing for over an hour as the queue refused to move because of the slow network. Some ladies started gisting and I overheard one of them talking about the hairstyle someone did for her, pointing towards another corper who was the hairstylist, I quickly turned to her and asked if she offered home service, which meant she would come over to my place to make my hair while I pay for her service. She agreed to come whenever I called her which I promised to do.


After a month and just on Tuesday, I called her as promised and we both agreed on Thursday after the mandatory CDS (Community Development Service) which all corpers do every once a week. Immediately, I loosened the attachment on my head and washed my hair. I went to the market the next day to get the new weavon I would be fixing and all was set.

I'd trusted her to show up after CDS on Thursday which I called to remind her in the morning while I was at my CDS office but she wasn't picking up the calls. I tried several times but she wasn't picking still, I assumed she was busy or perhaps was at her CDS office. I still believed her because it was business and the thought of making some money could prompt her not to fail or disappoint me. But she did anyway.


After the end of the CDS and was on my way home, I tried her number several times which was ringing but didn't pick up my calls. I got home and waited for her if she would return my calls. My plans that day got ruined because of this. I couldn't do other tasks because I was still expecting her to show up so I don't use that to disturb her presence. Every other thing was put to a halt because of her but at the end of the day, she didn't show up nor did she return my calls to give her reasons for not coming as planned.


1000236739.jpg

I was so disappointed in her. She made me miss out on other tasks which I got to do the next day but I just couldn't stop thinking of how unreliable she was and how she ended up not keeping to her words. To make it more obvious that she intentionally made it happen, I saw her messages on the group chat where she was actively interacting with other corpers and stayed for over an hour. I didn't chat her up but felt so sad because of the attitude. This has made me conclude not to have any business with her anymore. Anyways, it is to her loss and not me because I got my hair fixed earlier today.


For any service industry, reliability is the soul or backbone. It is what keeps customers coming back because they trust you and know you won't disappoint them. But what happens when that reliability falters? It leaves us feeling disappointed, let down, inconvenienced and frustrated. This then keeps us thinking if we can continue to depend on or trust that service provider again.

Have you ever experienced such too? Maybe when someone promised to show up at an event and you were eager to see them, waiting patiently for them to show up but never did? Have you been eagerly expecting the repair man to fix your appliances only to keep waiting for eternity? Have you encountered such a moment? I would love to hear from you in the comment section.

Thanks for your time reading. Looking forward to your interaction.

20240101_131050_0000.png

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Why do you guys use just a day for the clearance though, that would be really stressful seeing how you guys are many

For the lady, I actually was think it maybe she came but wasn’t able to make what you asked not knowing she didn’t even come at all, and was even texting in the group chat, how annoying

We use a day oo and many corpers leave the LGA at 4-5pm in the evening. So stressful day it is always.
Don't mind her. At least I have done my hair somewhere else.

Oh okay