A withered Rose trying to remove excess heat on her


image
Rose was standing astonished holding the railings. She was on the roof of her house because she was feeling suffocated inside the house. She was feeling guilty about things for which she had no fault. But it happens when your soft corner dominates you despite your trying to act strong or hard. She was a jocular girl influencing others through her spark. But as it is usual pretty faces and influencing personalities always attract many around you. Some show affection in a good manner, some grudge from you while some try to grasp you.

All was good in her life until she was proposed by her cousin. It was about a month ago when her cousin approached her. Being a cousin you always share a very good bond. But sometimes that bond proves onerous for you just like it did for her. She didn’t have any at all about what was going on in his mind. If she had, she might have nipped that in the bud. But now it was turning out of control.

“Hey Rose, May I have a few minutes of you?” William asked Rose finding no one near her and probably this is the most appropriate time.

“Yes, why not “ Rose said while lifting her head from the novel she was reading.

“See, I don’t know how will you react to it but this is what I wanted you to know. I can’t conceal it anymore and I am expressing it after gathering all my courage. I request you to listen to me with calmness” William stopped after completing his sentences in a single breath.

Rose was confoundingly noticing the weird condition of William and what he was muttering. She removed her glasses and turned completely towards him,”What happened William, Is everything alright?”

William was sweating already and Rose’s tone made him nervous again but now there was no time to step back. He muttered,
” Rose, I will not beat about the bush. I will directly come to the point. It has been happening for a long time that your presence just like your name produces redolence around me. My mind benumbs and my heart palpitates rapidly whenever I see you. I always wanted to stay around you as every time you go away my mind just thinks about you. Your beautiful round black eyes are nothing less than Atlantic for me in whose vortexes I have been caught. I simply want to tell you that I love you from the cores of my heart to each aspect of my soul”

Rose who was perplexed by his words and was feeling uncomfortable, wanted to stop him in between but her kind nature didn’t allow her to hurt him by stopping him. When he stopped speaking and pointed his eyes toward the ground waiting for Rose’s response, she spoke

“This is what insecure me and I must take it offensively but you are my cousin and I am not that bad to mock anyone’s feelings. I respect your feelings but I don’t feel anything like this. If it is a confession of feelings, I listened to it and I respect it but neither you nor I will cross the limit set as being a cousin. Thank you” Rose's tone was serious and a bit harsh and then she left him thinking this would end here.

image

But from that time William started offending him in many ways. He used to ask her to meet alone. Bit she denied. He used to call her up vehemently which she always rejected. He used to send him long texts. He was commenting on all the pics she uploaded of her on social media just to prove that he loved her. And this was annoying her now.

While standing on the roof, she was soaking in the cold breeze taking long breaths. She was exhausted by William now. She wanted to stonewall all this but he was intensifying further. She didn’t want to use any iron hand to tackle the situation as after all he was her cousin and secondly her caring nature used to castigate her every time she ignored him or his words. But she was helpless because William himself brought her to this stage.

“Can love be imposed? Is it essential to love back if someone loves you? Is it me who asked him to love me? Why is he making my life? Does he not care for his honor and my dignity? Oh my ALLAH how will I solve all this?”


image
Her mind was bursting with so many questions but she didn’t have anyone to share and seek help. She was ostensibly looking normal but deep down she was frustrated with this situation. She was looking for the answers to her questions. She wanted to get rid of this in a good way. She didn't want to hurt anyone’s feelings and she didn't want to bear this mental torture further as well.

At one moment she decided to be relentless and tell everyone what William was doing but then she looked at her family. Things will not remain that simple then. The situation will further complicate. The tears descended to her cheeks from her eyes just like a due drops slide on rose petals.

While she was fighting with her thoughts, her mother came upstairs to her and called her.
“Rose, what are you doing here? Everyone is downstairs. Go and serve the table.”

She immediately removed her tears, took long breadths, and responded with an ostentatious smile

“Ok mama, I just came to inhale fresh. I am coming”

And both of them go down the stairs.

What is your take on William?
What do you think Rose do?
Has anyone experienced such a situation in his/her life?

Let me know in the comment section.