Mexican inspired bowtie pasta salad

in Qurator2 years ago

DSC_6588.jpg
This week on Hive top chef the topic is pasta salad. This was perfect for me since I just got a pasta machine. The local kitchen store was out of them for a while but there it was the other day.

I have been making the occasional pasta by hand but I recently moved to an apartment with a smaller kitchen. I decided to reward myself with a machine which would make pasta making less messy. I don't have anything against store bought packaged pasta. In fact I quite like them. Homemade pasta is just different and offers a little bit of therapy as well.

DSC_6447.jpg

Usually I use half semolina flour and half all purpose. This time I went full semolina and I loved it.

I used around 2 cups semolina flour and around 1 cup water but I didn't really measure. I added a sprinkle of salt as well.

DSC_6453.jpg

I decided to put it in the food processor instead of the hand mixing method. I guess I was experimenting. I decided to add a little oil after the mixing. I also added a little more water until it formed a doughy springy texture.

DSC_6455.jpg

After taking the dough out, I kneaded for a good 15 minutes. After this it was nice and smooth. I covered it for around half an hour.

DSC_6457.jpg

I cut it into sections and rolled out enough to fit into the machine.

DSC_6463.jpg

After getting a nice thin, but not too thin sheet, I cut it into squares.

DSC_6471.jpg

Grabbing each square in the middle and squeezing, forms the bowtie shape.
DSC_6483.jpg

After forming them all I sprinkled a bit of semolina flour on them so they wouldn't stick. I am not a pro pasta maker but my instincts made it happen.

DSC_6487.jpg

They were put in salty boiling water until tender. These took longer than regular store bought pasta. I wanted them quite soft for a salad rather than al dente like hot pasta.

DSC_6504.jpg

The ingredients I chose were ones that may be used in Mexican cuisine. I say Mexican inspired though because I've never seen a pasta salad in Mexico. I have spent quite a while there and the only pasta I saw was a child's spaghetti with plain tomato sauce. I'm sure somewhere there is a pasta salad in Mexico.

Salad items
3 cobs sweet corn
1/2 cup red onion
2 small carrots diced
1 handful chopped cilatro
4 radishes
2 cups cherry tomatoes
1 bell pepper
2 hot chilies like jalapenos

DSC_6496.jpg

I would have loved to have charred the corn on fire, but that could not happen in my kitchen so I opted for pan roasting in olive oil. I added a sprinkle of salt and just cooked it until it was brighter in colour making sure it wasn't over cooked which can make it dry and tough.

DSC_6517.jpg

I chopped the veggies and decided on black beans. I opened a can that I had. I have dried black beans but I didn't soak them so I had to use canned.

DSC_6529.jpg

Dressing
Juice of 3 limes
1/4 cup olive oil
2 cloves garlic
2 tablespoons vegan mayo
1 tablespoon agave nectar
1/2 teaspoon oregano
1/2 teaspoon chili powder
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1/2 teaspoon thyme
1/4 teaspoon chipotle powder
Salt to taste

DSC_6531.jpg

Blend ingredients until smooth than taste and adjust the salt and seasonings.
DSC_6541.jpg

Mix ingredients together.

DSC_6551.jpg

Add some of the dressing and mix adding more after tasting if required.

DSC_6562.jpg

I added the tomatoes at the end since they're juicy and I didn't want to mix them too much.

DSC_6565.jpg

After everything was mixed, I let it sit for a while before serving, to let the flavors come together.

DSC_6571.jpg

I served it on a bed of Boston lettuce.

DSC_6595.jpg

I know that if this were made in Mexico there would be cheese all over it. I don't eat real cheese and often use a homemade vegan cheese but it really wasn't necessary. It's warm here right now so this was a refreshing salad which was filling because of the pasta.

DSC_6585.jpg

An extra squeeze of lime and some fresh avocado was a perfect accompaniment.

Thanks for dropping by and have a great day

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

Sort:  

Hi, congratulations it looks nice.You are the best cook all time.

You are too kind haha. It's not true as long as you keep cooking delicious food!

I think about how you are conscious about healthy food and using your Ideas.

Congratulations @carolynstahl! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 12000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 13000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the June PUM Winners
Feedback from the July 1st Hive Power Up Day
The 7th edition of the Hive Power Up Month starts today!

Now,I have some ideas for when summer arrives!! Thank you 😊

Oh and thank you! I didn't think you could get ideas from lil ol me haha.

Oh,you totally under estimate yourself! I get lots of ideas from you!

Totally innovative and beautifully done. Oh, my word that pasta looks scrumptious. Excellent! ❤️🤗💕🤗❤️🙃🙃🙃🙃

Ah how nice of you to say. I have to admit it was quite tasty. Thank you for your lovely compliment!

❤️🤗💕

Great looking dish, got me craving for a couple things now 🤦🏾‍♂️😜😋

Thank you so much @nevies!

Amazing work @carolynstahl !😋

You're too kind my friend. I appreciate that!😊

You deserve it!😉

Congratulations @carolynstahl! Your post has been a top performer on the Hive blockchain and you have been rewarded with the following badge:

Post with the most upvotes of the day.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the June PUM Winners
Feedback from the July 1st Hive Power Up Day
The 7th edition of the Hive Power Up Month starts today!

Much appreciated!!!!

You're welcome @carolynstahl, it's well deserved! Thanks for your constant involvement on Hive 😊🌹

Wow @carolynstahl what a colorful and delicious looking salad. Homemade pasta? you are amazing. Always enjoy your recipes, thanks for sharing.
Have a beautiful weekend my friend.

I am very flattered by your lovely comment. Really making pasta with the help of a pasta roller is pretty easy but it feels satisfying.

Thank you so much!!!!😊

Looking so delish.... I think I will follow this recipe. I have a pasta machine like yours but I am so lazy to use it. Perhaps it´s about time to take the machine out and make it run again, hahaha. Btw, I wonder what is happening to the user followers on Hive, this is the 3rd time I followed you. Have you experienced this? Some of my friends said the same...

Enjoy your weekend dear!