You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hive Top Chef! | Pickled! - Pickled Onion Bobotie

in Qurator4 years ago

I don't know why I didn't make bobotie this winter! Rather weird as it was kind of on the list of choices at different times. Your recipe is interesting - the variations on the theme with the pickled onions has got me thinking. I've never thought of using them other than raw and cold. Now, it's making me wonder how they would be in dishes other than bobotie!

I am glad to see that I'm not the only one who sautes the onion and browns the meat before doing the other stuff: the recipe I have, doesn't do that but I do!

Sort:  

Sauteeing onions & browning meat is a must in my eye, no matter what the recipe says, except of course meat balls which is a totally different story!
I'm not big into Bobotie but enjoy it now and again; I'm sure sweet & sour pickled onions would be good in many other dishes.
Always nice seeing you here Fiona, hope you and hubby are keeping well!
We've been extremely busy again, such a relief!