Hive Top Chef! | Chocolate Berry Flan

in Quratorlast year (edited)

20221206_122956.jpg

When I was prompted by @carolynstahl to get my apron on and fill the kitchen with clouds of flour and cocoa dust followed by the heavenly smell of chocolate cake wafting through the house and enter this week's @qurator's Hive Top Chef! | Chocolate Cake, I was in my element, so thank you Carolyn!

Food blogging, specifically baking, has always been my first love here on Hive, but it had to take a back seat as taking care of Mom Lily took up quite a bit of my time.
Mom also loved baking; pastries, and cookies being her specialty, and even when her balance started playing up, she would order me into the kitchen, and sit at the table rolling the cookie dough into little balls.

This old photo was after a Christmas cookie-baking session - note there are Chocolate Brownies in the front container.

ma baking.jpg

Many would not realize how time-consuming food blogging is, especially when it's a themed food challenge -
  • Choosing what to make, getting into the car, or else ordering online to buy the best ingredients, scratching in the back of the pantry, or foraging in the garden and putting something together with minimal ingredients when there's no time to go shopping or when the budget is tight, as many of us experienced after Covid lockdown.
  • Then it's into the kitchen, cooking, or baking, setting up props for presentation, and pausing in between steps, to take photographs.
  • Final presentation and more photos are taken from all kinds of angles.
  • Dishing up, more photos, by which time everyone in the house is ravenous and looking at me with big eyes.
  • Almost time to blog, but just one more thing, and that is selecting the clearest photos and editing.

20221206_135025.jpg


With this week's challenge, I decided to make a Chocolate Flan, a Chocolate sponge base using oil and water, yes, no butter & milk - filled with whipped cream and topped with Raspberries and Blueberries, ending off with Chocolate ribbons and little squares of Milk Chocolate.

Many are familiar with custard flans, like Creme Brulees, but I'm making a traditional flan with a sponge cake base, resembling a tart base.

A flan is a food that has a base and sides of pastry or sponge cake.
The base is filled with fruit or savoury food.

Source

flan base filling.jpg

Let's go shopping!

I must confess I bought extra Chocolate treats that I did not use, but I can assure you, it did not go to waste:)
ingredients.jpg

Chef line break.png

Chocolate Sponge recipe

Sift together:

  • 250ml Cake Flour
  • 20ml Baking Powder
  • 60ml Cocoa powder
  • 2ml Salt

Whisk together until frothy:

  • 3 Egg Yolks
  • 200ml Castor Sugar
  • 200ml Oil
  • 200ml warm Water

Gradually add sifted dry ingredients to oil mix, folding in gently.

  • 3 Egg whites
    Beat egg whites till frothy, gently fold into batter.

sponge batter.jpg

Spray 2 small flan pans liberally with cooking spray, dust the base of pans with flour, and pour batter into the pans.

Bake at 180° for approx 20min.

Loosen sides with a knife and lightly beat base, turn out carefully by placing an inverted cake cooling rack on top, flip, tap, remove from pan and leave to cool.

flan base.jpg

Note - these bases freeze well

Fill with:

  • 250ml stiffly whipped fresh Cream
  • Add a little melted Chocolate and fold in lightly

Top with Berries, Chocolate ribbons and little squares of Milk Chocolate

20221206_121829.jpg

20221206_123045.jpg

Anyone for a cuppa and a slice of Chocolate Berry Flan?

20221206_135239.jpg

20221206_140413.jpg


Heart page break.png
BON APPETIT FRIENDS!

Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Copyright @lizelle – All Rights Reserved

JOIN Hive using my referral LINK


SB_theMenu_Banner.png

SBC Banner hive.png
Banner by mondoshawan

Come and join our Silver Bloggers community Silver Bloggers footer banner 600 x 300.jpg

Artwork by @artywink

Sort:  

I am thoroughly elated that you created this cake. It is dreamy and creamy and mouth watering to look at. There was no way I could enter this. I am not a baker although I do it once in a while and also, there is no one to share with here. We have no space to store leftover cake. I bet some folks around you were over the moon about your chocolate goodness. I especially love the ribbons and the cubes on top. Love seeing your food creation again. I know what you mean though about how time consuming it is. I have slowed down quite a bit. Thanks for doing this @lizelle! All the best to you my friend.😊

Thank you for the encouragement @carolynstahl!
I love Chocolate Brownies but am not a Chocolate cake fan as such (prefer a vanilla one), but this flan was really good. As hubby is a diabetic I kept the topping as sugar-free as possible (had to steal all the chocolate on top of his slice) but he still had to inject a little extra insulin - not that he minded 😉
Our staff were smiling as they were treated to the balance of the flan.
Another bonus is we're going to dear friends close by & I'm taking dessert, so will fill the oher base for tonight.
You could always experiment with a microwave choc mug cake, or an unbaked choc cake?
I admire how you still enter the food challenges despite being so busy!
Thank you for getting me back in the kitchen with the baking pans my friend💖

This is absolutely stunning; the photos made my mouth water! I can certainly imagine how food blogging is far more time consuming than it may seem, each time I think I may do one, I get too busy in the kitchen and miss important photos... plus I'm awful at measuring !LOLZ

Thank you for sharing this wonderful photo of enjoying baking with your mother as well :) That is a very sweet memory to hold on to in more difficult times.

I also wanted to express gratitude once again for the delegations you provided to me for HPUD the last two months, it helped me grow my account quite a lot!

I hope you have a wonderful weekend! 😁🤗 !LUV !PIZZA

I don't want my wife any longer.
Her height is perfect.

Credit: reddit
@lizelle, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @grindan

Are You Ready for some $FUN? Learn about LOLZ's new FUN tribe!
(4/4)

Thank you for the kind words @grindan, it's been a great privilege helping someone like you who works hard here on Hive.
Wishing you continued growth in your journey here.
My poor phone gets abused in the kitchen with steam and flour and sticky hands, but has been my best friend😍
Have a great week @grindan 🤗

Lizelle, that looks epic!

Anyone for a cuppa and a slice of Chocolate Berry Flan?

Can I skip the cuppa and have two piece instead please? :-)

Thank you @nathen007!
LOL You can have a second slice anytime... if there's any left over of course 😉

That looks simply delicious, and I'm craving a piece.
How is your husband's recovery going? I hope everything is going well. Big hugs 🤗😘

It was very good dear Eli, wish I could send you a slice😉
I hope you're feeling better each day🙏
Hubby was actually feeling better a couple of days ago but wants to get active too soon, to his detriment, so I've had to be firm with him!
Big hugs to you as well🤗💖

This cake is so awesome. I really like the way you combine all those cute fruits into this dish it looks so luxurious.

Thank you for the nice words @nurfay, the berries do give it the final touch🤗

That looks very indulgent. I love anything chocolate, although not good for my waist line. At least the berries would count as part of your five a day.

LOL, I can always pretend the berries will make it a healthy treat but certainly not good for the waistline @kaazoom 😉

The mix of artistic creations on this cake looks very tempting

Thank you @afril, it was delicious as well.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @lizelle ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

looking at the photo, i wish i could have a few slices if it was here

I'd gladly have given you a slice @anikashannon, thanks for popping in😉

I would love to have a bite of that Chocolate Berry cake!

You'll have to be satisfied with a virtual bite @diding.😊
Thank you for the visit😉

a very beautiful cake. we should always have food like this with us in happy times

Yes this is a lovely celebratory cake, thank you @gladysgamble 😊

I am not a chocolate cake fan, but that I could eat! Looks divine, Lizelle!

Thanks Fiona, I'm also not a chocolate cake fan, always go for vanilla, but I do love chewy brownies, and this flan was very good indeed.

Well done @lizelle! You successfully guessed the match result and unlocked your badge!
Click on the badge to view your board. Click here to check your ranking.

Thank you to our sponsors. Please consider supporting them.

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Recap of Day 4
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
Our Hive Power Delegations to the November PUM Winners

It looks so delicious dear @lizelle :)

Thanks @trangbaby, it was really good indeed 😋

A very nice cake you are the backing master. Sure you will win the contest @lizelle 😊👍

Thank you @hindavi 🤗

I love chocolate so much, even my kids likes it as well. We went to ShopRite few weeks ago and bought ice cream, biscuits and CHOCOLATE, so yummy. I like this post dear.

Thank you @pearlg, chocolate is everyone's favourite not so😉

Looks good Lizelle

Hi @leelektrik, it was a good excuse to indulge, reminded me of when your Mom @pandamama & her team ran the Cook With Us contest💕

Ah I remember those days with such fondness @lizelle - ♥️- and you were Such a star from the very beginning

Those were good days indeed @pandamama 💖

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@grindan(7/10) tipped @lizelle (x1)

Send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

So delicious 😋😋😋😋 I am going to save this recipe and I would try to make it in Christmas Celebrations. I am craving to to eat really

Though i don't really love cake but this one you prepared is irresistable. If my Mom will be giving me this, i will love cake so much, hahahaha. It is delicious, the ingredients are wow and mouth watering. You know @lizelle, i am planning to spend this holidays with you. From the old pictures, you have a lot of yummy in the kitchen. Can I have address pleeeeeees