Hive Top Chef! | Homemade Halloween Candies - Cheaters' Trick or Treat Ghoulish Popsicles

in Qurator4 years ago (edited)

20201027_144346.jpg

So here we are again for another week of slaving over the hot stove, spending hours making something special for Hive Top Chef!

20201027_144301.jpg

BUT, and it's a BEEEEG BUT, I cheated, really cheated badly; no slaving over the hot stove but wanted to show you just how easy it is to make something fun in a jiffy when time runs away with you, as it has the habit of doing to me and I'm sure to you as well!

All that I used was:

  • A pretty Orange Hokkaido Pumpkin
  • Blue Bubblegum flavoured Marshmallows (made by a local candy manufacturer...not me I confess!)
  • Food colouring
  • Coloured Sprinkles
  • Toothpicks for painting
  • Kebab sticks for our ghoulish Popsicles

20201027_135039.jpg

I mixed a little red and green food colouring which turned into a very dark purply-black colour, and had a whole load of fun painting funny faces with toothpicks.

20201027_141339.jpg

A sharp knife was needed to carve my Halloween Pumpkin; unfortunately my pumpkin was too small to make a Jack-O'-Lantern!

20201027_144321.jpg


A Bit of History on Trick or Treating

Most of the traditions related to Halloween originated from four different festivals:-

  • The Roman Feralia festival which commemorates the dead.
  • The Roman Pomona festival which honours the goddess of fruit and trees.
  • The Celtic festival Samuin (also called Samhain) which means the end of summer, and this is where most of the Halloween traditions stem from.
  • The Catholic “All Soul’s Day” or “All Saints’ Day”, which was initiated by the Church in an attempt to replace Samuin.

The wearing masks or costumes during this celebration stems from a Celtic year-end tradition; their New Year starts on 1 November.
Their superstitious belief was that the realms of the living and the dead would overlap allowing the dead to roam the Earth again during the transition from one year to the next, therefore by dressing up as spirits they would fool actual spirits who would then leave them alone!

moon5623740_960_720.jpg
Image Source

The practice of trick or treating began in the Middle-Ages, when poor children and sometimes poor adults would dress up in costumes during Hallowmas and go from door to door begging for food or money in exchange for songs and prayers mostly for the dead. They called this practice souling and the children were called soulers.

During the 1920s, pranking rather than souling took place but this got worse when the Great Depression hit; turning to full-scale vandalism and violence with cars being overturned, houses trashed and people assaulted.

Some believe that modern-day trick-or-treating was a way to restore order and keep people safe on 31 October.

Halloween history sources:
http://www.todayifoundout.com/index.php/2012/10/how-the-tradition-of-trick-or-treating-got-started
and
https://www.history.com/news/halloween-haunted-house-great-depression

halloween2841108_960_720.jpg
Source

I witch you a Happy Halloween!

Qurator page break.png
This has been my contribution towards the exciting weekly @qurator foodie contest for this weeks' theme of Qurator's: Hive Top Chef! | Homemade Halloween Candies.

Sorry I cheated, but hope you enjoyed my Trick or Treat Cheat, and thank you for popping into my kitchen :)
Qurator page break.png

Hive animated divider 1.gif
Why not try it for yourself RIGHT HERE
Join Hive and come Alive!

Heart page break.png
Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Copyright @lizelle – All Rights Reserved


Banner created by @derangedvisions

PHC-Footer-05.gif


Banner created by @zord189

Sort:  

I looked at the first picture and thought 'That Lizelle is RICH. She painted toilet paper rolls for Halloween decorations". I had to go back and look again :)

My Dad told some tales of Halloween. Tipping over outhouses was a REALLY common occurrence. One time, somebody coaxed a cow into the HS Library on Halloween night. He never really convinced me that he didn't have a part in that when he was in High School. Would have been the early 40s.

Thanks for a great post, Lizelle. I really enjoyed it. I'm pretty sure I'd like the toilet paper rolls, too :)

HAHA @bigtom, just goes to show how small my pumpkin is to have thought these were toilet paper rolls;);) That would have been a thorough cheat though not so!
I never knew about the history behind Halloween, Hive is making me look at the history books again in my old age:)
Thank you for your lovely comments & the chuckle!

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @priyanarc & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.io/diyhub!

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

Thank you so very much @priyanarc and @diyhub, really appreciate the curation!

Cute popsicles.
Loved the history lesson, you are so good at that.
Have a wonderful day.

Lazy ones but it was fun for sure, I found the history behind it quite fascinating! Thanks for popping in, nice seeing you @farm-mom;)

Wow.. this is really cool
I would never imagine a popsicle in the theme of halloween

Desperate times call for desperate measures not so, I ran out of time and this seemed the easiest thing to do;)
Thank for popping in @ireenchew:)

Very creative, good to see some other entries. I was afraid @sreypov's was going to be the only one.

Just took a peak at @sreypov's entry, definitely trying that candy so have reblogged it; mine was a real cheaters' entry, but I honestly ran out of time.
Thanks for stopping by @justinparke;)

beautiful and funny art
my greetings dear @lizelle

Thank you so much @wendyth16, hope you're keeping well:)

Hi @lizelle, I am so happy to see your reminder, the forgetful me has done it again hahaha. I love this idea lizelle, so simple and yet fun for the kids. Thanks for sharing this. Good Luck with your entry! Have a Nice Day and take care, cheers, ainie

Hi @lizelle, you are such a sweet person, thanks for the reminder. I love this idea so fun! I am very sure that this item must be a favorite among kids during party. Good luck with your entry! Have a Nice Day and take care, cheers, ainie

OK agree desperate times, especially considering this has only recently started being considered in some areas over here, not many....

History lesson about Halloween ironically I was given by my son last night, all I knew it was from old pagan history, more in line with dead predecessors, even the bonfire was part of the living remembering the dead.

So many reasons from different belief systems it is scary in itself.

Love the blue marshmallow faces sure to be enjoyed by the all!