A Happy day! Let's cook Filipino food "Humba". A Visayan style recipe.

in Qurator2 years ago

received_1855910414595140.jpeg

Greetings everyone especially the @qurator community.

Yesterday was our big boss payday (my partner) and this is what I love payday it's the time we can treat ourselves and I want the family to enjoy good food on the following day to share. Today is a happy day for us and I'm cooking HUMba.

It's a happy day because we only make good food like this dish today whenever we have the extra budget because honestly cooking this type of dish will cost us a bit.

I'm making Humba not just to feed my family and just to have content but also to introduce it to the world.

"Humba" is derived from our Visayan dialect which means HUM (HUMok) in English tender and Ba(Baboy) in English pork so it's Tender Pork and I'm cooking this Humba my way. Some of us usually do the easiest way like putting all the ingredients together all the way and then cook but me, I'm cooking it in two ways.

, let's start!

For the ingredients

  • 1-kilo pork
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons salted black beans
  • 1 pack seasoning
  • 1 onion
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • 1 pack asocena (dried Lily flowers)
  • 1 pack of bay leaves
  • black pepper
  • 2 cups water
  • oil and salt (for frying)

IMG_20211111_214845.jpg

IMG_20211111_213450.jpg

IMG_20211111_213422.jpg

Cooking procedure

  • I start the cooking procedure by washing the meat and slicing it into the desired piece since I forgot to let the vendor cut it. After, I cleaned and slice the onion and garlic and prepare the other ingredients for cooking.

  • I simmer the marinated meat with a pinch of salt first and add oil when the juice reduces. I fried until golden brown but in my case today I think I over fried the meat. I like making it this way because after frying you can remove some of the excess oils from the pork before cooking it with the main ingredients.

  • After frying, time for the second round. In the same pan (it's the only non-stick pan I have) I separate the excess oil and put it back and time to combine the ingredients.

  • I just add all the ingredients and cook slowly on medium heat until tender.

IMG_20211111_214744.jpg

IMG_20211111_221117.jpg

IMG_20211111_221143.jpg

IMG_20211111_221210.jpg

After 20 minutes my Humba is done.

received_434309908279769.jpeg

received_686343818952864.jpeg

received_261358495932713.jpeg
Did you know that humba are traditionally served on every special occasions here like birthdays, weddings and most especially fiestas? Luckily I learned how to cook humba early maybe someday I can organize big events and I can cook humba personally for them.

received_3122334641418982.jpeg

Thank you for dropping by.

If you like the recipe feel free to use the ingredients just adjust the amount on your desired taste 🙂.

Sort:  

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Yuuuum!!! After switching my diet, I haven't eaten humba in a while but before this used to be my favorite dish!!! Looks really tasty 😍😍😋

Hahaha. Thank you, with this dish you can surely eat some extra rice.

Thank you for dropping by 😉.

Congratulations @luckylaica! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 400 comments.
Your next target is to reach 500 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁶ Meetings Contest