Hive improvement idea: Support Tor hidden services for Hive dapps

Idea suggestion image from Pixabay

I hope that some Hive developers make dapps which will support Tor hidden services (using the .onion TLD).

Alternatively, I want existing popular dapps (especially Hive.blog and Peakd.com) to support .onion links.

The best I think I could support the developers of such apps right now is to use their dapp and donate a decent chunk of my post earnings to the developers of the said dapp.

I have the following reasons:

  1. There can be a man-in-the-middle (MITM) attack, and most users would probably just ignore it. Most users who are not computer professionals would likely ignore a warning that the fingerprint of the SSL certificate of the website they are visiting (in this case, Hive dapps) suddenly changed, and worse, add a permanent security exception. Remember that a master password getting compromised is a guaranteed loss of an account. Alternatively, the private keys of the SSL certificate authority (CA) could get compromised by hackers or governments.
  2. Tor hidden services are technically secure. There is no need to trust a centralized authority (certificate authorities) because of Tor hidden services, because it is simply how they work. Data never leaves Tor's secure network.
  3. Annoying CAPTCHAs will be avoided. When visiting websites with SSL certificates from Cloudflare (especially Hive.blog and Peakd.com) using a VPN service or Brave Browser's Tor functionality, we are presented by annoying (and oftentimes infinite loop of) CAPTCHAs by Cloudflare. Currently, the only way to bypass this while staying anonymous is to use the Tor browser itself. Some of the other dapps (such as Hiveblocks and Splinterlands) do not use Cloudflare, so no CAPTCHA page is presented.

I hope my Hive improvement ideas are welcomed. Thank you.

(idea image from Pixabay)

Sort:  

@ash

Every time I post anything about the Tor browser, I remember you (and your advocacy towards supporting the Tor Project). Would you mind if I tag you every time I publish an informative post about Tor?