Sort:  

They could, yes, however since we have a mute feature already at the blockchain level and the table already present on the blockchain level for blocking, why not engrain it as default too? If the feature is only at the Dapp level it won't follow you around different Dapps.

The mute feature is not on the blockchain level, it's on the Condenser level.
Adding a block feature to Condenser will only work on frontends that use that code.
My knowledge on this topic is limited so maybe I'm missing something.

There is both a mute and block table in the Hive SQL database. I haven't run any queries to check their contents yet though.

My mute list in peakd seems to be the same mute list as i have in hive.blog.. so i think its likely they are accessing it from the same place.

n.b. this post now correctly refers to my mute list and not my mute lust. thanks auto correction!