You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: History of Hive COMMUNITIES and what is next (From my perspective)

in Hive Improvement3 years ago

Love the discussion!

As a new user, there are quite a few things that I have caught myself wishing into existence. Not sure how to classify as FE or BE, so I will just list them out below.

  • A community focused on helping newcomers. As friendly and welcoming as everyone has been, especially @acidyo aka. @ocd and @hivebuzz, it feels like it I have had to spend a lot of time trying to piece together the basics of how Hive and Peakd work. If there is a community like this already, then finding it needs to be easier. If not, I would guess it is because the majority of the community members would be new, therefore the work done by the mods/admins would never be compensated fairly. Maybe some support via a proposal would help offset this?

  • Clearing notifications is very annoying lol having to navigate to another page in order to click a button that "clears all notifications" because of one reply is cumbersome. It would be nice to have the notification flag? disappear after clicking it.

  • A way for people to organize their blog and/or posts. For example, there is an awesome writer that I follow on here @johnjgeddes who has countless pieces to read. It is frustrating having to search linearly to follow his stories. It would be nice to have each of his stories given a folder of sorts.

  • Not a recommendation, more of an insecurity, but I hate not knowing how/where to ask a question. For example, if I have a question about how the value of a users vote is calculated, would I write a blog post and tag @hive or @peakd or do I try to find the best fitting community to post in?

  • Regarding different language posts, although I may not understand the language, I have still found value in many posts. I think being able to filter by language is a good idea, but I would still want the ability to have languages unfiltered.

  • Love the idea about content categories. I much prefer reading things than watching a video so would enjoy the ability to filter video content out of my feed if I choose.

Apologies if some of these things are already in existence and I am just unaware of how to utilize it!

Keep up the great work!

Sort:  
  1. Perhaps the upcoming addition of Community Chat Channels could be helpful... maybe there could be a default one added for all new users. However there would need to be a community of more experienced users all willing to check into that channel to answer questions.

  2. Agreed that we need a better way of clearing the notification. I think the first step would be to make the clear notifications button bigger/better/more obvious.
    However we can't just clear the notification for you because it is you the user that actually do that. One must keep in mind that on blockchain the front end (peakd) actually does none of your transactions... you do them all yourselves using software you chose to use when you logged in... like keychain or peaklock. It's a unique aspect of social media on blockchain: Only the user performs actions, they put information directly on the blockchain... themselves!
    So this does make it a tad more challenging but I'm sure we'll figure out something better.

  3. This involves a product we are going to work on and so we think we have a great solution for this.

  4. Understandable. I'm not sure what the answer is for every case. Who do you want to ask? I guess if it's PeakD you can ask us on discord (which we link in a couple places on our site) but also we have an open chat channel for peakd so i'm guessing that's also a good place to ask about the front end. However a lot of this is about Hive itself and no one owns or controls hive in a centralized way so it's not like other social media platforms where you have one place to message (which they won't always respond because they're huge) ... So who do we ask?
    There should be a better answer for this and i think it relates to your first question, I'd love to see a community start up that was very capable of interacting with and answering questions for new users.

  5. Yes languages unfiltered would continue to be the default i assume.

  6. You're referring to the ability to categorize the type of POST? Yeah i guess ability to see or in your case NOT see a type of post would be an option if we had that sort of backend DB support.