I never realised that. I thought the warning was just to say that you'd lose your curation rewards for the vote you were removing, not the revote. Isn't it punishment enough that your VP from that vote is lost? I often accidentally under vote because I hit the slider as I was going to vote, so I readjust it.
I'd certainly support this proposal.