You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Proposal: reduce Hive inflation by reducing curation rewards

in Hive Improvement4 years ago

There is an essential part of the use of auto-bots that I see no mention of here in your post @blocktrades. And that is how the current EIP places such a "premium" on the timing of our upvotes. There is no way manual curation can compete with coders who can programmatically "maximize" this, to their advantage.

If those inclined to put some serious effort into manually curating were not penalized for not getting their selected posts upvoted within the first 5 minutes of it being published, I wonder then what the "behavior patterns" on our Hive blockchain would morph to become, as a result.

It is inconceivable to me this change would not result in beneficial improvements.

Sort:  

Yes, I agree with you this could have a real impact, and I've thought the same thing (although I didn't discuss it in my post). And @enjar mentioned a similar idea in his comment. I didn't check to see who was first, but I suppose we're not going to discount the ego rewards to the fastest writer :-)

Okay @blocktrades, up before 🌄 (here) ...

Yes, I agree with you this could have a real impact, and I've thought the same thing (although I didn't discuss it in my post).

[emphasis added mine]

... first let me thank you for this prompt (within 24 hours ...) response. It was very encouraging to me to read it. Why? I am long past deluding myself the opinion of a mere dolphin carries any real "weight." But yours? You can change the course of our Hive blockchain's future ...

I have covered what I consider the "heart of the matter" before and labeled it as "Programmatic 'Winners' and 'Losers'." As you say yourself, you chose not to address this concept in your post here. I would suggest to you, in far greater numbers than you might realize, many will be watching, waiting, and hoping that might change in the future ...

"I didn't check to see who was first, but I suppose we're not going to discount the ego rewards to the fastest writer :-)"

Appreciate at least the thought. As a part-timer, though, I try to avoid any concern on my part about timing. Another aspect of getting past deluding myself ... 😉

Thank you, Dan, for investing your time into this response. Have a great day!


P.S. I was a "big boy" and did not even get into downvoting issues. Including getting a sizable one recently from @blocktrades. I try to take it in stride, as you and your team did this presumably in your efforts to "stomp out the bad guys." One (as far as the little bit I know about it) of whom chose to upvote my work ... Another topic, perhaps, for another day ...

I'm like you. And here I am too, a couple of hours a day, curating, manually, and very poorly, at that, upvoting comments I like because I think that is what this is all about, EVEN THOUGH I am penalized economically for doing that, curating poorly, that is. Poorly, of course, when viewed in the eyes of current rewards - comment upvoting just might be the worst ROI in the house! But I've already said enough about that in this thread ...

Not deluded, but very hopeful. The whole HIVE fork is a thing of wonder in my book. There's an extraordinary group of people at the core of this, and throughout as well. Lots of reasons to have high expectations for HIVE.

Well @cryptographic, while I have no way of knowing for certain, I suspect there are a lot of people like us here on our Hive blockchain. Frustrated ...

Unfortunately, we do not have the economic clout to make much (if any ...) difference. I intentionally stopped short of claiming (as I and likely you have seen elsewhere) the "system" is "rigged" in favor of those who do have the economic clout to make a difference. Who knows (that's willing to acknowledge it anyway) ...

Which brings us all to this critical decision point:

"... EVEN THOUGH I am penalized economically ..."

This reminds me of one of the very few times a "whale" bothered to respond to a comment I made on his post. In his response to me on this post, @trafalgar was man enough to admit he had once "fought the good fight" against all of the abuses on the previous EIP "system." Then he gave up and joined the others at whatever one might wish to call it. As a result, he was arguing in favor of the EIP system we are talking about now. BTW, last I knew @trafalgar was no longer active ...

"Not deluded, but very hopeful. The whole HIVE fork is a thing of wonder in my book. There's an extraordinary group of people at the core of this, and throughout as well. Lots of reasons to have high expectations for HIVE."

I'm sure there are many who are hopeful, in spite of all we are discussing. And while we are waiting ...

image.png

The price of HIVE is heading down below 1500 sats ... Once HF24 is successfully behind us, I guess together we'll find out what is in store for us.

Thank you very kindly for stopping by! 😉

That chart is responsible for a lot of emotional FUD these days (or would that be the opposite?). You know the tune by now, everything is going to come from dapps, SMTs, now wrapped HIVE sent to DeFi, etc., etc. It's getting depressing. No one seems to see just what they've got in their hands here. That's temporary though. That chart represents the exodus of those who just don't get it. Watch how everyone is saying the opposite in a few months. But, in the meantime, the rest of us need to keep our wits about ourselves. ;-)

Yeah, and the economic clout? No doubt it's centralized. It's like that everywhere you go. The results of the early adopter advantage. With time things naturally get more democratic, and, well, while I don't think it's malicious in this case, it's the way it is and what we've got to deal with.

Cheers

And I'm going to 'upvote' you some ENGAGE - let's see if it works this time.

!ENGAGE 50

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.