You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hivemind API being updated to allow following mute lists

in Hive Improvement4 years ago

Hi @blocktrades - I don't know if you remember, but we spoke a little about a web of trust system back in Poland in 2018, and it is something that I think about from time to time.

With following blacklists and mute lists, would it also be useful to have a "follow whitelist" option, where users could whitelist the accounts they follow in some way. Would then this create a matrix of trusted and untrusted accounts that will provide a granular account confidence level of increasing sophistication and precision (of some kind). Trusted accounts would have a greater impact on the trust of other accounts but they can also be labelled untrstworthy in a type of social consensus algorithm and drop down the rankings, pulling their "recommendations" down also, unless their recommendations are propped up by other trustworthy accounts.

I don't know if I am explaining this well, but I think you will get the idea at least and process it fast enough as viable or useless :)

Thanks for the recent updates and I am looking forward to hearing more on HF24 - Enjoy your week mate.

Sort:  

I remember it well, and my decision to work on Hive was in large part because I decided that Hive was the perfect blockchain to build a web-of-trust system of the type we talked about back then. I believe the applications for such a "trust computation" system are nearly endless, and will have radical implications for productive organization of human endeavors.

And you're also not the first to see an analog between what we're doing with decentralized lists and the trust computation system I've described in the past. One of the guys here actually suspected that this was my stealth way of introducing the trust computation system on Hive :-)

But in truth, the decentralized list implementation was just introduced to solve immediate problems with Hivemind performance and centralization issues. Nonetheless, the nature of the solution was no doubt influenced by my thoughts on web-of-trust based systems and we may gain some useful real world information related to web-of-trust systems from its deployment on Hive.

And your idea for whitelists could certainly extend the abilities of the system to start serving as an early web-of-trust prototype. We could even potentially go further and allow for users to create new types of lists. For example, someone could create a "good programmers I know" list and others users could then make "good programmers I know" lists of their own. The complete trust computation system I envision eventually is much more nuanced than this, but it might be worth deploying a very early prototype just to get ideas for the future.

Nonetheless, the nature of the solution was no doubt influenced by my thoughts on web-of-trust based systems and we may gain some useful real world information related to web-of-trust systems from its deployment on Hive.

I am looking forward to seeing what kind of data can be leveraged to add to the trust conversation, as it is a very important one for Hive with much larger ramifications.

We could even potentially go further and allow for users to create new types of lists.

From just an enduser perspective, it would be a nice way to build "playlists" that could be used to enhance all kinds of interactions and relationships.

The complete trust computation system I envision eventually is much more nuanced than this, but it might be worth deploying a very early prototype just to get ideas for the future.

No doubt, but a few little steps to see what can be learned may prove invaluable in the larger steps to follow.