You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: PeerVerity: The New P2P Trust & Knowledge Protocol from Blocktrades! A Decentralised Social Proof Network!

"...build their own fact checking mechanisms."

This I will find useful, as I am often flying on gut checks in the hurly burly of comment sections, based on prior knowledge that may be decades out of date. I have had to retract my comments, and I HATE being wrong, so this causes me distress. While this is humbling, and therefore good for me, I am suspicious I am too comfortable with that distress, and I would very much appreciate means of better certifying what I have confidence in, so that distress remains extremely uncomfortable, and I never, ever become complacent about being wrong about important things.

It is also very beneficial to enable understanding of specialized knowledge. For example Scott Ritter is a former US Marine, Weapons Inspector, and military analyst, but I have no reason to expect his remarks on butter manufacture to be expert. However, his proven veracity and panache of authority in fields where he has expertise could easily lead someone to expect anything he said about butter could be taken as gospel, which doesn't necessarily follow. Being able to note such expertise, and propensity for some folks to comment outside their realms of experience, can help greatly to appropriately view such interests and expectations.

Thanks!

Sort:  

I can foresee that an advanced dApp running this protocol could essentially replace the default view of Wikipedia, Youtube and other such sites - with them now only being databases for the main app to make use of in it's profiles and network models. This is another example of a true web 3 concept coming to life.