You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Announcing Koinos Whitepaper & KOIN Mining

in Koinos4 years ago

Sweet, thanks for the update, I'm going to look into the miner tomorrow. A couple of noob questions as I've never mined before.

How much ETH do you think it will cost?

How powerful does your pc need to be? I have a gaming PC so will this be enough?

Sort:  

I actually haven't mined since Bitcoin! So, noob here too lol.

As far as your machine, it will depend on a lot of factors, but the short answer is yes a gaming PC should be more than enough.

Steve answered the ETH question in another comment, but I'll include it here:

This answer really depends on the current gas cost on Ethereum. There are ways to mine "cheaply" though. In the documentation, check out Proof Frequency and Mining Behavior sections.

The TLDR; is if you want to save on ETH cost, you mine with a lower Proof Frequency. This will indicate to the miner to attempt proofs with higher difficulty which results in higher yield per proof and with less ethereum transactions.

Haha, united in our noobishness although I think you probably have a bit more dev experience than me 😁

I've downloaded the desktop miner now but I have a couple more questions on where I put in ETH addresses and how to use the miner. Be good to have it all set up before everything goes live!

image.png

I've numbered some bits on the screenshot above in red:

1 - is this where you reduce your mining frequency (Proof Frequency as you called it)?

2 - I don't really know what this is? It asks for a password? I use a ledger nano s which I have a little bit of ETH on so is that what it's asking for or am I way off the mark?

3 - Is this just an ETH address? Would I be able to use my Ledger Nano S address for this?

4 - What is the Dev Tips?

You'll find all the answers to those questions here: https://github.com/open-orchard/koinos-gui-miner.

This is exactly what I'm looking for, thanks!

WOOT. Happy mining!

I'm gonna add that link to the post. Thanks!

Haha popping my miner's cherry here! Can't wait to see how it goes! I got a few music friends on board and got them to download the miner as well. They said it was a doddle which is a great sign! Keep up the awesome development!

Good idea to add the link to the post as well. Us noobs need the direction 😁

All set up and ready to go now 😊