3D Printing With Glow in the Dark PLA Filament

glow-dark-3d-prints.jpg
Image Source: Personal Photo

Another thing that I've done with my 3D printer that I am just getting around to posting about now is 3D printing with glow in the dark PLA filament. It's virtually the same as printing with "regular" PLA but making the model being printed stronger with a higher in-fill percent is basically wasting the filament. To "charge" the printed model with ultraviolet light the surface is almost exclusively what gets the UV and glows later. The ultraviolet light doesn't go very far beyond the walls of the print. In other words what gets 3D printed is mostly for decorative purposes. The spool I got is one kilogram of green glow in the dark PLA but by sparing the in-fill it can last awhile before being completely consumed.

glow-3d-print-filament.jpg
Image Source: Personal Photo

Yes, of course I 3D printed a Fallout Nuka Cola bottle from Thingiverse. Not the canonicity glow color but since I have the .stl file I can always 3D print another one when I get blue glow in the dark PLA.

3d-print-glow.jpg
Image Source: Personal Photo

------------------------------

My Thingiverse account: https://www.thingiverse.com/holovision/designs
My Thangs account: https://thangs.com/Holovision
3D printing community on Hive: https://peakd.com/c/hive-103035/created

Sort:  

That's pretty damn cool!

Thanks. Posts with a glow in the dark Hive logo and glow in the dark Hive token coming soon.

Muy interesante esa impresion en 3d amigo y con ese color verde llama mucho mas la atencion espero seguir viendo que subas mas contenido por aqui saludos...

I heard 3Ds are amazing when it comes to giving out the best drawings, even with tattoos. Can you make one with your printing?

This is really impressive. This is first time I am seeing 3D printing