Classic Smokey Eye | A beginner's guide

in MakeUp Power3 years ago

A4011BF6-54AA-44FA-BA43-BEF8D3AA8A1C.png

In my circle back in High school, I was the least confident, well as far as putting makeup goes. I've always had this fear that I don't look good with it, and at the same time, I know my father wouldn't approve. I remember going home from school and struggling to remove my makeup at the jeepney because I know if I kept it on, my father would be mad at me for it.

Whenever I would think of that story, I can't help but to be proud of how far I've come, not only am I confident in wearing makeup, but it has also become my source of income. I started freelancing as a Makeup Artist when I was 18, at first it was just people that I knew personally until they started referring me to their friends and family. I firmly believe that it is through series of makeup appointments that I was able to master my artistry. Nothing feels better than hearing the words "I look so beautiful" from your client, it always amuses me how the power of makeup can uplift people, especially women, so much.

In today's blog I'll be sharing some of my tips on how to achieve one of the most requested looks amongst makeup artists, the Classic Black Smokey Eye. It's a client's favorite especially when attending grand events.

A good makeup look starts with a good skin prep. Always moisturize and prime your face before putting on foundation. When doing a smokey eye, you can either do the eyes first then the base or vice versa. For most artists, they do the eyes first since dark shadows tend to have fall outs.

The first step in achieving that perfect smoke is by using a transition shade, either brown or gray, depending on the color scheme that you would want to go with. For beginners, I'd recommend using light brown, since it's easier to blend. You first blend this all over the crease.

1E84F380-6E3E-45F5-95BD-DAA81A9E5F0D.jpeg

Then add a darker brown shade under that first color, then blend the part where the two colors meet. After that, we then apply a black eyeshadow on the lids. When putting the black eyeshadow, apply it using a packing motion instead of a swiping motion to lessen the fall outs. Then blend the part where it meets the darker brown shade. You can either keep it matte or add some shimmer shade to glam it up.

61629A80-F075-45AC-8748-3461C4B668BB.jpeg

On the lower lash line, you basically do the same thing but reversed. Apply the black shadow first closely on the lash line, then fade it out using a darker and lighter brown shade. Don't forget to put a black pencil eyeliner on the water line too to finish it all up.

729CF60E-5C8C-4BC8-AAA0-9B6BA9BE45B0.jpeg

Apply some mascara on the top and bottom eyelashes. Most artists would apply a thick false eyelashes to complete the look but if you're still a beginner, a couple coats of mascara would do.

055AAB6F-9B11-4705-A725-122EE3BF2601.jpeg

After all of that eye work, you then wipe away any fall outs under your eyes so that you can proceed with your face makeup.

The key to a sexy Smokey Eye is to keep the rest of the face makeup clean. This will highlight the eye makeup more. Going for a nude lip would also steal the show.

And that's how you achieve, a Classic Smokey Eye. If you wish to see more of these or any area of makeup you would want me to do, make sure to comment it down below. Also, though I am a freelance makeup artist, I know that my works won't always be perfect and that I still consider everyday as a learning process.

Remember, when we wear makeup, it's never about hiding what we truly look like but rather improving and highlighting the beauty we already have.


Sway

Hi guys, welcome to my channel, this is Sway! Oh I mean my corner here in Hive.🤗

Follow me to not miss any of my posts, love and light 💛

Sort:  

You have a really great writing style. So comfortable and easy to read. It's like sitting down with a friend for a cuppa :-)

Awe that means a lot 🥰

Congratulations @swaycanete! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 1500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1750 upvotes.
You received more than 250 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 500 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Love the makeup on you!!🔥 sultry