Showreel editing | Hive price distraction

in Filmmakers2 years ago

I was up late last night

I was stuck in an edit trying to make sense of a new showreel for my music video work, designed to be the first thing you see on my website. I’m aiming to put together a super slick 60 seconds of interesting visuals (cut to a track from my favourite independent musician Chris Catalyst.)

img_0074.png

Whilst editing I was massively distracted by the recent Hive developments!

$3.40 ATH the other day was incredible.
My vote has easily surpassed the $1 for the first time.

Watching the price has been more exciting than any TV show out there right now.
I’ve been on here 4 years building, posting and connecting - so it’s wonderful to see some gains in price. I remember the seemingly never ending $0.15 bear market so vividly 😂
But here we are.
I keep getting distracted by the price on CoinGecko!

Something exceptional is happening here on HIVE.

For the interest of a future record, todays price sits at $2.29

img_0090.png

Anyway, I digress,

I usually I find this kind of showreel video edit pretty straightforward to be honest. When I’m not being distracted that is. It was very late last night 😂
Selecting the best bits of my work and finding them the right place is usually easy but I’m struggling with this one for some reason..

A few years ago made this showreel (below) and I was really pleased with the results. I wanted something personal, a bit light and accessible. So I went out and shot some piece-to-camera shots of me rambling about my work..

I’m not making anything as extensive as that on this occasion, however I did shoot some pieces to camera for my new showreel over this summer. I think I did a post about it.

But the clips and delivery don’t seem right in this edit and I think they lacked the same kind of spirit as the other one. Perhaps it just feels like I’m recycling the same idea - which I don’t like to do with my work, if possible to avoid.
I didn’t want to force it to work either so I’ve just left it to be a simple visual demo for the time being.

img_0076.png

It features work for bands like Paradise Lost, Chris Catalyst, Shrapnel, The Empty Page, 1919, Bloodbath, Carol Hodge, The Scaramanga Six, Paul Morricone.

As you can see on the timeline there are some fairly obvious gaps to still fill with the best stuff.

img_0078.png

I’m working this project on my 2012 MacBook Pro from home. It’s an old machine, but still a workhorse for quick editing stuff I do in the evenings.
I’m working from an external 2TB SSD drive which is lovely and fast, however the USB 2.0 is the bottleneck.

img_0077.png

I really fancy a new MacBook Pro M1 machine.
(Also fancy a new camera. But that’s for another time!)

Wishing all Hive members a successful weekend!

Fantastic to be a part of this platform and I’ve still got SO MUCH to learn about it! 😍

Sort:  

Hi @ashtv,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

I remember the seemingly never ending $0.15 bear market so vividly

I remember this very well.

Good times are ahead for our community:)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Good things ahead indeed!

Still here, still building!
Thanks for the comment dude 💪

I know the feeling man. Making a showreel is incredibly difficult and takes so much time. I cant wait to see the new reel when it's ready! Be sure to tag me when you post it on here!

You totally get it!

Sure man, I’ll give you a tag!!
Thanks dude!

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@steevc(6/10) tipped @ashtv (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

i love showreels, a creative businesscard. lookig forward!

Thanks man! I’ll tag you when it’s up 😀✌🏻

Its hard not to get distracted by the price. Exciting times. I wonder if it will last? I hope so. Good luck with the editing. You'll have to share the finished product when you're done.

I absolutely will share!

Thanks for the comment as ever.

Maybe Hive can buy you a new computer some time. Just don't worry too much about the price right now. If we can get more people enthused then it will go higher. We were almost in the top 100 coins and will get there in time.

Hope you can find the necessary material and inspiration for your showreel. From what I've seen of your work you have lots of great stuff.

!PIZZA

Thanks man! Always a very balanced and considered comment from your fine self.

Yeah to cash out for some gear would be great.
I think I need to seek some guidance as I’ve never cash out to Fiat before.
I’m not sure of tax implications and such.

I’ve no doubt the price will see have many more great days!

I spent some before via a debit card that takes crypto, but the current one is not allowing deposits due to UK regulations right now. I need an alternative option. I'm not sure what the tax issues are. It's income that was earned, but is sort of 'magic money'. If you need it to go through your business then need an accountant who understands crypto. I think smaller transactions will not attract attention.

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating your Leo power to @india-leo account? We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.