You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Music video // Carol Hodge // Dir. ashtv

in Filmmakers3 years ago

Wow good job on doing everything yourself! Well I am eating my own words in this case hahaha 😁 the contrast looks great 😉. I am a sucker for filters and shit, I always overdo it so don't listen to me, and plus I ain't directed shit, you did all the heavy lifting.

Another question for you, I don't have the best PC and I see that you Edited in 4k (At least 2k), I use shotcut as an editor, and it tends to stutter during the previews. Do you also work "blindly", see the result when exported, or you can see most mistakes and what needs to be fixed on preview?

I am sure you using Finale? I think you already told me.

Another Another question! How many takes per shot?

Amazing job bro, you are in your own lane :)

Sort:  

No worries man, we like what we like 👌🏻

I edit in Adobe Premiere. I don’t ever work blindly, I like to know exactly what’s going on.
My machine handles 4K playback I just fine, except when applied with colour effects etc or if it’s a weird codec.
On premiere you can set ‘playback quality’ via the preview monitor to be full, 1/2, 1/4, 1/8 or 1/16. Which is great because it plays back the 4K size just at a lower fidelity. That helps playback massively and it stops the choppiness you might usually expect from 4K.

Takes - I shot approx 3 takes each for the intro/verse movements where she is sat alone. For the band performance I shot 2 takes each atleast for their parts. Occasionally re-shoot a specific drum fill or pause, if they had trouble hearing and getting on time first time around.

A bit of trial and error but we solve problems quickly on shoots like this

I still think it looks very cool nonetheless!

OK I see, I have an option on SHotcut to convert the 4k into edit friendly, but it's not really doing much of a difference.

I have no idea why I wrote Finale, I meant Premiere of course. I use to play around with it, I might take it once I upgrade machine, I have a quad core i7 with a decent graphic card, but it's been a while that I wanted to change to something more silent, to improve sound quality when recording with mic.

On premiere you can set ‘playback quality’ via the preview monitor to be full, 1/2, 1/4, 1/8 or 1/16.

That's practical!

Thanks for having taken the time to answer all my question mate, I'll be there for the next post!