A VILLAGE SWALLOWED BY THE FOG

I visited Pichan quite a few times in 2022 and the village already appeared in a couple of my posts here on HIVE, but when I was driving through that area on the 29th of December, on my birthday ...

(Enlargeable)

... I saw Pichan getting swallowed by the fog, so I stopped by the side of the road ...

(Enlargeable)

... a kilometer or two from the village, to watch the church tower and the cluster of houses around it ...

(Enlargeable)

... disappear before my eyes.

(Enlargeable)

I stood there, amazed by the scene, only for a couple of minutes ...

(Enlargeable)

... but it felt much longer.

(Enlargeable)

When the scene looked like this, with no Pichan in sight, I decided to drive up the hill to see how things look from there.

(Enlargeable)

As I was approaching, the fog was retreating.

(Enlargeable)

I was able to catch only the last minutes of the fog on the top of the hill and get fewer photographs than I hoped for. Here you can see the medieval gate to what was back then the compact, fortified town, not just a small village with something less than 300 inhabitants, that Pichan is now.

This is the statue of Saint John of Nepomuk in the park in front of the old gate. In this shot, the fog provided a nice background that you can't have on a fogless day. The branches of the surrounding decorative shrubs and trees, the interplay of shadows and light, and some buildings behind the park create an overabundance of chaotic details among which the statue becomes barely recognizable. The fog is the only weather condition in which this John of Nepomuk looks good in photographs.

Here you can take a look at the streetlamp in the narrow alley which can be reached through a smaller passage that also leads into Pichan.

(Enlargeable)

A short outburst of sunlight appeared for a second or two while I was approaching the compact center of the old village. I caught it in this photograph. I didn't enter through the main gate this time because the misty atmosphere looked better in the small side passage shown in the following shot.

I'm entering here.

(Enlargeable)

In this wide shot, you take a better look at the architecture in that alley.

Here you can see some ruins on the opposite side of the village. Many abandoned stone houses are covered with ivy and the places that once were yards or gardens are overgrown with various shrubs and tall herbaceous vegetation.

(Enlargeable)

In the foreground of this shot, you can see the wet foliage of the blackberry shrubs found in one of those abandoned places on the edge of Pichan. At this point, the fog has almost completely gone from the village.

(Enlargeable)

A minute or two later the atmosphere on the top of the hill was very different ...

... and the fog ...

... was down in the valley.

It looked great from a distance.

Like a beautiful white sea.

To get this photograph, I used all the zoom that my camera can offer. The scene was breathtaking ...

(Enlargeable)

... but it didn't last long.

Just like it happened on the top of the hill where I was standing, in a matter of minutes the fog started leaving the valley as well.

(Enlargeable)

The veil was dissolving ...

(Enlargeable)

... and revealing the usual winter scenery.

(Enlargeable)

And that's it. I left the village soon. It was a short, although intense, experience, so the post can't be very long either. Hope that you'll find it fairly intense and that you'll enjoy the foggy atmosphere in the pictures just as I enjoyed my birthday in Pichan. I haven't planned to visit this village. The plan was just to drive around and stop if something cool happens along the way, or not stop at all, just drive around and listen to the music from the car stereo. That's my favorite way to celebrate birthdays. And New Year eves. And everything else, I guess. Some friends were in the car with me.

AS ALWAYS IN THESE POSTS ON HIVE, THE PHOTOGRAPHS ARE MY WORK. - THE END

Sort:  

Thanks for this wonderful tour!
I felt like walking through all these beauties!

Some great atmospheric photos there, you really captured the essence of the fog.


I have picked this post on behalf of the @OurPick project which will be highlighted in the next post! Comment Footer.jpg

Thank you. 🙂 Glad you like the post.


~~~ embed:1638775673606004739 twitter metadata:MTIwNTA5MjI2NTYxNTY1OTAwOHx8aHR0cHM6Ly90d2l0dGVyLmNvbS8xMjA1MDkyMjY1NjE1NjU5MDA4L3N0YXR1cy8xNjM4Nzc1NjczNjA2MDA0NzM5fA== ~~~

The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @taniagonzalez, @technicalside, @djbravo ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

What a wonderful birthday present you had! It's as if the mist, that sometimes so short-lived mystical phenomenon, was there just for you, lingering on the hill by the church, beckoning you, bewitching you with its mysteriousness, waiting for you a little above, then descending, again letting you to photograph it... because meteorological phenomena, like any natural being or thing, allows or does not allow to be photographed. But that day was your birthday and the fog decided to give you a present. 😊
!LUV
!PIZZA

Yes 😀 Following the fog felt a bit like chasing a bird or butterfly this time.

Yes 😀 Following the fog felt a bit like chasing a bird or butterfly this time.

I have to tell you I opened this because I thought the title read: Swallowed by the FROG.... Sigh, not quite awake this morning yet I guess... Thought you might get a chuckle...

Anyways, cool shots of the fog in the area!

😂 It's a clickbait title disguised as a normal one. 😆 The frog swallowing a town would be a scary encounter, but great stuff to photograph, so I hope to see and never see that at the same time.

What a perfect place to take photos and you have exploited this at the highest level!... a lot of flair and eloquence in these photographs... Divine to look at!... Thanks for sharing @borjan friend!!!

!VSC
!BBH

@jlinaresp has sent VSC to @borjan

This post was rewarded with 0.1 VSC to support your work.
Join our photography communityVisual Shots
Check here to view or trade VSC Tokens
Be part of our Curation Trail


@jlinaresp ha enviado VSC a @borjan

Éste post fue recompensado con 0.1 VSC para apoyar tu trabajo.
Únete a nuestra comunidad de fotografía Visual Shots
Consulte aquí para ver o intercambiar VSC Tokens
Se parte de nuestro Trail de Curación


Uses: 4/25

@borjan! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @jlinaresp. (3/5)

It happens to us in the Summer, We can't even see the person standing next to us due to the fog.

As someone from San Francisco, famous for its fog, it is nice to see the effects in a different environment!

Sure looks like a pretty village, and the fog pictures just add to the character - nice pics !!!
!ALIVE
!PIZZA

@borjan! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @hoosie. (6/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Yes 🙂 The fog creates a great atmosphere.

Now that is definitely a place I wont mind to live in!!

Rainy, foggy and dark and eerie weather is certainly on top of my list

!BEER

Here in Pakistan, when it's very cold, the weather becomes such that even a person standing in front of them cannot be seen, due to which the police here also closes the motorway. Walking around in this weather is so much fun and I love the old buildings inside the pictures you shared with us.

So foggy. Almost zero visibility in some of the photos.

I have always said that I like the fog, I would say that a very cold but cozy celebration, my grandmother used to say that the most important thing on a birthday is the warmth of the people, let me explain, the gifts do not matter, the positive energies of the people When saying happy birthday to you is the most important thing, that these words are sincere, so taking this into account, your birthday was ideal, no matter the cold environment that you say you like, your always loyal friends are the most important thing

This is really a village swallowed by mist, I like to see beautiful nature like this.

I loved this about California, swallowed by smog in LA, smelling of flowers and pollution. I enjoyed this about CA. Thank you for sharing very lovely!

Very foggy in some of your photos Today, but the fog adds a superb atmosphere I think 🤔

Kind of mystical in a way! Awesome shots !LOL !PGM 👌

Want to here a joke about pizza?
It's a little cheesy.

Credit: boboman
@borjan, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @fun.farms

(8/10)
Are You Ready for some $FUN? Learn about LOLZ's new FUN tribe!

I love this place so much that I feel like I'm actually looking at these pictures in a painting, actually these pictures you have captured are very amazing and beautiful.

Quite fresh natural scenery, looks a little smoky in that area Mr. @borjan.

Ghost town 😣

Yes 😀A ghost would feel at home there. Especially in winter.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!


Hey @borjan, here is a little bit of BEER from @technicalside for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.