A lot of people try to find love somewhere hoping that it will become a dream come true. Most people try to find love from friends of friends, relatives of your friends, exes of your friends or from people they pass by, someone they met at a bar, etc. Let's call it blind dating or just simply dating.

I am going to share a little bit about how I found the love of my life. To be honest, it wasn't as interesting as you thought it would be but everything that I knew about love changed when I met him. Everything that I believed about relationships and love suddenly changed.

I was about to say 'I haven't experienced blind dating' like I still need to experience that HAHAHAHA. I didn't experience going on blind dates. I didn't know how will I do it, I don't have the confidence and I don't how it will end up so I didn't even try.

293686259_432213695492899_4238897509657881324_n.jpg

When I was younger, my concept of love is just dating, falling in love, marriage, and being happy ever after. I thought ' if I will be in a relationship, I want it to start with friendship. I want it to be with someone I already knew for at least some time. That way, we can go ahead and skip the 'getting to know each other' part. I believed that romantic relationships should always start from friendships for them to last. Maybe that's the reason I didn't entertain guys that I'm not friends with.

I wasn't in a relationship for months trying to find myself, trying to find some meaning in my life, and trying to fix issues about myself. I was even hesitant to look for love, to talk to other people.

I got so bored and took the risk, again. Yes, again. I did register so some dating apps before and was able to talk to some strangers but I wasn't so interested in how the conversation went. So I stopped.

Now let's go to swiping left and right my modern-day dating story.

One of my best friends was the one who introduced me to these apps like Tinder, Bumble, Her, and other apps I can't remember. She suggested I should go back to dating apps, just to check out other people.

Here are some dating apps that I've tried.

image.png

photo grabbed from Google

I started with the most famous dating app, Tinder. I was just checking it out at first out of boredom, then uninstalled it because:

  • Most people there are just looking for hookups
  • A lot of kids are also on the platform who pretend as an adult
  • There are scammers and posers too.

For the people who are looking for love thru apps like these, I would advise you to be very careful as well. Let me share a quick story about when I was almost scammed.

I matched with a guy named Bernard Wilson Smith from California, USA.

image.png

He wanted us to talk through email, not in the app. After a month of the email conversation, I already had a feeling that there was something fishy with this person who told me that he will come to the PH so we can be together. (I wasn't able to find that thread, I think it was on my work email) And then, he said that he will be sending a package that contains some of his stuff (mostly gadgets and money). He instructed me to find a place to rent using the money that was in the package. As far as I can remember, the package contains an iPhone, laptop, other expensive gadgets, and money worth of 40k pesos. He sent the tracking details of course, but I wasn't familiar with the name of the courier. I was able to check the tracking details online with the link provided in the email. I researched for the courier, even the website seemed fake as it lacks other details. I did still give the benefit of the doubt because I am such a person like that.

After a few days, I received a text that the package had arrived in customs and that to release the package I have to pay 10,000php. They stated the details of how to settle it. That was the time that I knew that it was a scam. I just ignored all of it.

I have gained the skill of researching people or something by only using its pictures which I can spend a whole day. His mistake was he did send a photo on our email thread. I started looking for him, his real identity. I found out that his name wasn't Bernard Wilson Smith, his real name is Eric Angelo. A social media personality. I was able to get his email address on his social media page and told him about it. This is his response.

image.png

It was just sad that some people take advantage of other people. Especially the ones looking for love. Maybe because everyone wants a fairytale story, we must be aware and not trust any person immediately.

I learned my lesson. A month wasted when I thought I could meet someone new in my life.

image.png

OK Cupid

photo grabbed from google

Just the same swipe left and right game. It was kind of funny because, in this app, I saw a lot of people I know who were single at that time. Hey, we do see online dating stories ending up together are cute. But this app wasn't appealing to me so I stopped.

Nearby

image.png

photo grabbed from Google

I'm sure about this one because I can't recall the name of the app. But I think this one operates the same, swipe left and right. The twist? You cannot see the person's picture, you have to talk to them, and ask questions so you can reveal the picture. Not relying on the person's physical features, more like a blind date.

I got bored with this app because I don't do the icebreaker kind of questions.

And lastly,

Bumble

image.png

photo grabbed from google

The same mechanics swipe left and right, but I find the people here nicer and more interesting than the other dating apps I've tried. Some will be honest upfront but not in an offending manner. I believe they have updated the app so they can have another option like looking for friends, business, etc.

I met my husband through this app. :)

hivefsf.JPG

How about you? Tell us how you met your partner :)

Capture.JPG

Sort:  

Yay! Daming Oppa dun sis ha. Hahaha. Ako,kahit daming nagapop-up niyan, di talaga nasubukan..

hhahahah nako bored lang talaga ako noon tska yung mga kaibigan ko pinagttripan ako sila namimili ng isswipe hahahha

Congratulations @miconteangsabeat! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 100 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 250 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Quarterfinals - Recap of Day 2
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Quarterfinals - Recap of Day 1
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!