A missed opportunity, or the last opportunity

in Urban Exploration4 years ago

In the old quarters of the city of Rivne, you can still find rare buildings and abandoned houses, but every year their number is decreasing.

Just because a house looks abandoned doesn't mean it doesn't belong to someone.

I often passed one such house.

It looked abandoned. The windows were sealed with paper and did not let in light, but the doors were closed.

The entire plot of land was overgrown with bushes and tall weeds.

Yesterday, while passing by this house, I saw some activity.

The bushes were cut and the grass was cut.

Most likely, there is a buyer for this house.

I think there is a very high probability that this wooden house will be demolished and a modern house will appear in its place.

I decided to keep photographs of the corners of the house as a keepsake. This structure was assembled without nails.

20200921200342.jpg

This is an old house. I think he is about 70-80 years old.
Time has no direction of movement and all directions are subject to it.

For the first time, I decided to use a photo reactor to create a GIF.

I wanted to create a dynamic effect in the construction of the corner of this house.

20200921200118717.gif

20200921195913881.gif

I hope you don't get dizzy while watching. But when you stand in front of the unknown, adrenaline starts to spin your head.

20200922095405577.gif

As I said, there are few such houses left. I could not get inside, I am a law-abiding citizen, but I saw the work of a carpenter, which impressed me very much.

Such a house is warm in winter and cool in summer. But, this is an assumption, I cannot say 100%.

For all its old age, the house did not seem very dilapidated.

Coming closer, I did not see rotten wood.

Over the years, the wood seemed to be very durable.

20200922130759.jpg

Perhaps this is not a stalker's journey through an abandoned structure, but this is the little that I could do in order for us to remember the old days.

20200922131028.jpg

Author @barski
Ukraine

For my publications, I do not use stock photographs, it is fundamentally important for me to use photographs that I have made with my own hands for publication and I can name them - authorial work.

You can go to our blog on the Hive platform by clicking on the bee.

bEEEEEEE.jpg

Sort:  

There is something very sad to see something so old get demoed for progress - all that history in that wood structure gone forever for some massive concrete/rebar entity - thx for the share again

I share your sadness. People follow the path of least resistance. Very often, restoration work is more expensive than building from scratch, and, as a result, many houses end up in the furnace.
If you are talking about a concrete foundation, then this is, for the most part, a necessity. Groundwater is very close here, the wood will rot very quickly.

I live in a river town here and have seen a lot of old breweries/pubs/hotels in this area give way to concrete to given the water situation. It's sad, but yes, cost prohibitive for most folks to keep these buildings alive.

!BEER
for you


Hey @barski, here is a little bit of BEER from @eii for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.